Christmas At Home 2009


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Kampong Glam
December 25th 2009
Published: December 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We had our annual Christmas gathering at the Coffee Nations this afternoon. The small corner of the cosy cafe were packed to the brim by 24 of us. A few surprise gifts caught me unprepared this afternoon as I had not prepared any gifts in return. I do not claim to be on the best of terms with all 24 of them. There were some whom we drifted apart over the course of the year when I left the company. I'm kind of thankful that I was still invited for this informal Christmas gathering.

I was happy to see them again. Of course with such a huge group, it was virtually impossible to mingle with everybody present given the few hours this afternoon. Finally, I decided to stick with my usual kakis whom I was most comfortable with. I didn't share much with my upcoming Nanjing trip with them for fear of inviting more questions from the floor.

All too oftened, I was misunderstood for spending money on useless activities like travelling. Which in actual fact, 52% of my salary went straight to the bank account every month. 21.5% to my daily expenditures and insurance policies while 17% to my retired parents. Only 9.5% of my salary went towards fuelling my extravagant travel expenses. Call it extravagant? How extravagant could it be when I oftened fly with the budget aka the cheapest carriers available and stayed at the cheapest decent accomodations I could possibly hunt from the internet?

As I continued to venture out new places year after year, it made me realised how big the world is. I could probably spend my whole life time travelling yet not able to cover most of the places on earth. For now, I would continue with my extravagance for new experiences. China, I will be with you shortly.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb