First stop - Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Geylang
September 7th 2010
Published: October 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The adventures begin,...Singapore

....

A little disappointed that the first leg of our Asian adventures seemed so westernised, definitely not what I was imagining and so expensive, we only had 2 days here and yet we managed to spend at least 3 weeks worth of our budget, not a good start, though to be honest every country we'd been to so far we have spent more than our allocated budget, I guess that's just one of those things. Either way we tried to make the most of Singapore, we trekked out to Bukit Timah Nature Reserve, took the jungle path up the hill which in high humidity was quite exhausting but extremely exhilarating, I loved it, our first taste of a tropical rainforest, I'd been so looking forward and I wasn't at all disappointed. Better yet there were monkeys at the foot of the hill, again, another sight I had been looking forward to seeing, they were so cute as well, exactly like the monkey programs I'd viewed on tv, running about, having fun, cleaning each other 😊

We also managed to fit in Raffels Hotel and swung by the Long Bar for a Singapore Sling cocktail - yummy btw! I managed to take a photo of the recipe 😉 and I also now love monkey nuts thanks to that place, I did endeavour not to pick up the habit of just dropping the shells on the floor like you do there, lol, still cracks me up remembering how it looked, so cool! Another sight that many people had told us to make sure we check out was Bugis Street, I must say it reminded us greatly of the Barrowlands Market in Glasgow, though pretty much clothes only, it was good to see although it was super busy. Luckily time ran out before our whole entire travel budget did so it was time to leave and head on over to Jakarta and travel Java in Indonesia.... May the adventures begin 😊



Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb