Where to go - some fresh ideas for travel


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Samar
August 4th 2009
Published: August 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

JeepneyJeepneyJeepney

The best way to go.
Where to go after traveling the usual suspects? Here are some new ideas I came up with surfing the net while recovering from a Monday night drinking binge today.

1. Samar and Leyte in the Eastern Visayas, Philippines.
Why: I could use a Red Horse* beer.
The general idea: Buy a motorbike, tricycle or a Filipino style used jeepney that says "Jesus is with me" on the sides and "Guns'n'Roses" on the front and tour these relatively little known islands.

2. Bangladesh.
Why: A detox in muslim country might be welcome.
The general idea: See the Sundarbans sanctuary for tigers, well known for the fact that a person (usually a honey collector) is eaten alive by a tiger every third day. The tourists still claim of course that it's hard to catch a glimpse of one. I can't wait to join their doomsday choir.

3. Papua New Guinea.
Why: The country has a population of 6.25 million. They vote for 45 different political parties and speak 800 different languages.
The general idea:
a) Travel to Wabag. Claim to fame according to the LP: "People sit around a lot."
b) Travel to Wewak. Claim to fame: The Japanese Peace Memorial park, locally referred to as Pis Park. I guess those 800 languages don't help with English pronunciation.
c). Travel to Wau and Bulolo. Claim to fame: Insect Farming and Trading Agency which ships locally collected insects and butterflies to collectors around the world. And I once thought I didn't have a life. I was mistaken.

Like it? More of my travel stuff in my new blog at

*If Red Horse is not the most sympathetic beer in the world then I am the queen of Cambodia. The trick with Red Horse is that every casque of twelve beers has one bottle of Happy Horse, which has a slightly different label - the horse figure on the bottle is smiling. And of course it's a little stronger than the average horse.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb