The OC's Guide to Traveling


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Metromanila
January 8th 2016
Published: January 8th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Okay, I am not a jetsetter or what people call a world traveler but I do have my share of traveling- whether local or abroad. I do love to travel. I love discovering new places, learning about its culture and getting to know people from different backgrounds and ethnicity. The experience I get from traveling far outweighs what I read about it or watch on TV. There’s nothing more fulfilling than being there personally.



Regardless of destination, I am not a light traveler. I don’t think I can survive with just a backpack. I have to have my essentials with me all the time. Some say I am an OC- obsessive compulsive- that way. For me, it is always better safe than sorry. I know there are a lot of articles and blogs written about traveling. One more wouldn’t hurt, right. Indulge me, if you will.

Here is my short list to guide to traveling:

BEFORE TRAVELING:

1. Always research about the place you are traveling to. Get to know the culture and what to expect from the people. Remember: you are the visitor you adjust to them and not the other way around.

2. Check what the weather is like during the time of your visit. Bring appropriate clothing.

3. Arrange for your tour, if needed.

4. Make a list of what you need to bring from toiletries, medicines, clothes and shoes. The clothes and shoes you bring should be appropriate to the type of traveling you will be doing.

5. Ensure that you have enough stock of toiletries with you to last throughout the whole trip. If you want to use the ones the hotel provides, be my guest. I just don’t feel comfortable if I don’t have and use my own choice of toiletries.

6. Have a photocopy of your passport’s info page (the one with your name and picture).

7. Check the internet or airline website of the things that you can bring on your hand carry and those that need to be checked in.

8. Make duplicate copies of your ticket and hotel vouchers.

9. Make sure that your passport and other travel documents are within reach so you will not hold up the line when you get to the airport.

10. Get local currency, but always bring US $ with you.

11. Get travel insurance.

WHILE TRAVELING:

1. Keep your passport and duplicate copies of your ticket in your locked luggage or in the hotel’s safe deposit box.

2. Bring the photocopy of your passport wherever you go. Ensure that you have your wallet with you before you leave the hotel.

3. Before leaving your hotel room for the day, keep whatever valuables you have in the hotel’s safe or in your locked luggage.

4. Don’t forget to bring your itinerary with the address of your destination and map, as well.

5. Get hotel card especially if you don’t have a car or tour guide with you.

6. If you are traveling on your own style, check the best route or best transport to take even before embarking on your mission for the day.

7. Small bills would come in handy. Make sure you have enough.

8. When changing currencies, check out which moneychanger gives the best rate. It pays to ask your hotel concierge for recommendation.

CHECKING OUT

1. Ensure that you have all your belongings stashed in your luggage. Check the safety deposit box, drawers and cabinet, under the pillow/comforter and under the bed.

2. Count the number of bags or luggage you take with you.

3. Make sure that your passport and other travel documents are within reach so you will not hold up the line when you get to the airport.

4. Give credit (where credit is due) to the people who have made your stay pleasant. A little appreciation goes a long way.




This is not a COMPLETE list. And you may disagree with me. You are welcome to come up with your own list. This is just something that I find helpful when I am traveling and there is no harming in sharing it.



Oh, the best advice I can give; ENJOY and HAVE A WONDERFUL TIME traveling!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb