April 18, 2007: SJA '67 and Psych at Merk's


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Metromanila
April 18th 2007
Published: April 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

April 17, 2007: Lut with SJA ‘67 and Psych friends

There was some confusion about dates when I would be seeing SJA ’67 and going out with the Psych group. Fortunately for me, both groups wanted to go to Merk’s in Greenbelt 3 to watch the New Minstrels (a 60’s/70’s band comprised of people our age).

Dodo was supposed to pick up Ade and me at the Podium at 6pm. I wanted to do some shopping before that (bubble wrap, sheet protectors, Pinoy veggie cookbook - all National Bookstore stuff… ahhhh, National Bookstore will always be part of my Philippine visits). Podium is small and not really that exciting, so I decided to go to Shangrila after lunch and then just walk to Podium after shopping. Fortunately, Dodo suggested that she pick Ade and me up in Shangrila. Thank goodness! I realized later that it was going to be a long walk to Podium.

Oli dropped me off and there I was in Shangrila, all on my own. It was sort of empowering to be doing things on my own, walking all around the mall looking for the bank, the restroom, etc. Little things that I usually rely on my family and friends to direct me to. And so, of course, the first order of the day was to have a mani-pedi. Since I have been having foot spas, I decided to have a hand bliss treatment (manicure with massage and hand reflexology). That was at the Nail Spa. You sit on a cushy couch, with lots of pillows. Very quiet in spite of there being many people. There was even a 8-10 year old girl having the full treatment. Times have changed.

And then I shopped. Even bought a maternity bathing suit. Hey, until we do something about that belly fat, I will use a comfortable swimsuit. I was able to buy my favorite kind of sprayer from Rustan’s (Unimart, Robinson’s and ShoeMart did not have them). But no really sturdy card protector from National.

When I was all shopped out, I ate some chocolate cake and had an iced chamomile tea at Figaro’s. And then shopped again. At around 5:40p, I went to Starbucks to wait for Dodo and Ade. They did not have bottled water, so I bought their gum (so I can use the container for my new 2G flash drive). Then I settled down to read Holy Grail, Holy Blood. I also bought the Gospel According to Judas, but letting Xandra read it till I leave.

Traffic was heavy so Ade and Dodo were late. We got to Yong’s restaurant in Greenbelt, Mr. Rockefeller, an oyster bistro, and the guys were there - Yong, Jimmy, Rod, JJ (Jorge Vargas). Boy T was still on his way from Pililia, Rizal (that was where we had our last UPCYM outing before I left for Rome in 1971!). Yong served a 7 layer dip. I dipped and realized it had beef! So he had a spinach dip served. Yummy. Thanks, Yong. Next was a garlic pasta. Then a cake for the birthday girl. This is one birthday that was celebrated so many times! Jimmy, thanks for the dinner!

We then walked on to Merk’s. We were one of the first groups. The music was loud. Probably did some damage to my eardrums. And they were playing 70’s music, which I am not familiar with, having been a suburban housewife that decade (as Meme says: the 70’s were Mom’s lost years) . Then the Psych group came - Lenny and Mon, Jing and Oca, and Santi. Throughout the night I just went from one table to the other. Dodo knew the manager, Mon knew the manager. So the Minstrels greeted our groups (actually, they greeted all the groups in the club), but they did mention that the SJA group was celebrating our 40th anniversary. Then they also greeted and actually had the whole club sing happy birthday to me. Really strange to have that kind of celebration, given how quiet my birthdays usually are.

Finally, the Minstrels started playing 60’s music. Jinggoy is quite into dancing. So I got into the dancing, too. And all the while, I was going from the St. John’s table to the Psych table. The Minstrels got quite confused with my going from one table to another and one of them said, oh you’re at another table. And Santi said I was a GRO. And everybody laughed. THEN I found out GRO means Guest Relations Officer. Mwa hah hah. I think it’s like some “hospitality” person.

Lenny also told the group about Mon's comment about the Psych group: "here you are, ph.d.'s, professors in psychology, and what do they do? and he made a motion of the pranic general sweeping!" that was so so funny! So we would dance with sweeping motions...

And so we jerked, twisted, bye-byed, cha-cha’ed, maski pops’ed. Mon did some fancy boogie-ing. Even Oca danced - that was the first time I saw him take to the dancefloor. Rod and Jimmy danced with Dodo and Ade. Can’t upload the pictures yet. Will upload them when I get home.

And so was my dancing night. Santi said I may have lost 3 lbs. If that is so, then that’s 3 lbs. off the 12 lbs. I gained since I arrived here on March 24!!!

It truly is wonderful to visit and have all these friendships just pick up from where we left off like no time had elapsed. I am so blessed to have lifetime friendships (maybe even across lifetimes!)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb