Manila, Philippines


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
December 20th 2012
Published: December 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Our time in Melbourne was short but sweet, with only two days to spend on it's beautiful streets. We spent our time walking throughout the downtown area, seeing the sights and eating as much of the delicious food our stomachs could hold. With so many little streets filled with shops, restaurants, musicians, artists and other interesting sights, there was never a time that we had nothing to do. The city seemed to be a piece of art with so many old buildings, trams running through the streets and tall buildings scattered throughout. Our hostel was actually built in 1812 and had previously been used as a homeless center before being turned into Nomads Backpackers. After our two days in Melbourne, we bid farewell to Australia and headed for the Philippines.

First, we had a 7 1/2 hour flight to Brunei and then a 2 hour flight to Manila. Fortunately, before we left, I purchased some "acupressure" wristbands which seem to have actually cured my airsickness. What a relief! I can hardly believe they actually work, since I've been struggling with airsickness my entire life and have found nothing to help until now. Anyways, we arrived in Manila a little later than expected, and found that a large group of my Filipino family was waiting there. It was a happy reunion for me, and a lot of introductions for Jordan. The culture shock for Jordan was a good shock, and he seems to be loving this foreign world. Our hotel is located right beside a massive mall called SM city, which Jordan and I have spent lots of time at with my cousins Jay Jay, Honeylene and Girlie. Jordan boasts now of knowing more Taglog than I do, which he has been diligently studying and learning from my cousins and other family members. We took a trip to the cinema to watch the Hobbit, and took Jordan to the famous fast food chain called Jollibee. So far, our experiences here in Manila have been all very enjoyable. Especially the shock of how cheap everything is in comparison to Australia.

Anyways, I'm sorry it had to be such a short and quick post, but we are off to the mall once again. I will add some pictures of Melbourne and Manila, though. Hopefully now that we are in Asia we will have more chances to post in this blog. Until then...

Kris.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb