Manila Malls


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
February 16th 2009
Published: February 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Last days in the Philippines



We headed back to Manila on Saturday morning. Poor Greg had barely survived food poisoning and had to suffer through a 5 hour trek back to Manila on a ferry and bus. It took us a lot longer to get back into Manila due to traffic.

We eventually made it back to our hosts in Manila. Greg passed out and I went to dinner with the girls. I was glad to be away from the ant poop and comfortably tucked away in a clean bed. Home sweet home. After all our adventures in Puerto Galera, one of the perks of having great couchsurfing hosts is the "homey" effect. Albeit not our apartments in Korea and definitely not home in Canada, Liliane made it as comfy for us as possible.

The next day, Greg was slightly better so we ventured out into the city. The traffic is horrendous in Manila but our gracious host Liliane drove us around anyway. First order of the day, Filipino food! It was decent despite all my food restrictions. Greg was sick again shortly after.

There isn't too much to discover in Manila that isn't in any other city but I will say one thing, huge decadent malls! My goodness, for a country that is not fully "developed" yet, the malls are extensive. The shopping is good, you can find designer clothing at decent prices and there are loads of options. Surprisingly, still no sizes for my gigantic feet. We checked out a few clothing shops and lounged around in the bookstore for a couple hours but since I wasn't really planning on shopping, I stuck to the plan.

The next morning, we were up early to catch our flight. It took the cab about 1.5 hours to get us to the airport. Less than $5. I have no idea how they profit as a cab driver. I was sad to leave but strangely glad to be back in my own apartment (not Korea). I am hungry again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb