Phili fun


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Laguna
November 4th 2008
Published: November 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

TabassTabassTabass

Bennet, AJ & Suzie (left to right)
I've been in Philippines almost 10 days now and I'm wondering how I ever managed to cram in my family visits on my usual 2 - 3 week vacations here. My first week was spent in Metro Manila with my family on my mum's side and became increasingly more busy towards the end of the week with it being All Saint's.

My cousin AJ is in a band called Tabass and over the past year they've been working really hard writing songs and getting themselves heard, so imagine the excitement when they were invited to perform at the Hard Rock Café in Makati alongside some other indie bands!!?? I'm so happy I was hear to see it and loved every second. I recorded their set on my phone and was simaltaneously trigger happy with the camera during their performance. Watching the video back now you can here my intermitent 'WOOOO!'s
I also went to their other gig on Halloween where AJ dressed up as Batman, Bennet (Bassist) as The Joker a Suzie (Drummer) as Penguin. They looked pretty damn cool!!

It was All Saints day on Saturday so I spent Friday with my Titas (Aunts) paying our respects to our loved ones in the cemetaries. I love the way they celebrate All Saints here...it's basically a fiesta. On first impressions, I found it very strange when we drove into Loyola memorial park and immediatelty I spotted a huge KFC delivery info banner over the gate. I spanned across the area I could see food stall upon food stall; Shaley's Pizza, Burger King, Zagu, etc... It really was just like going to a festival. The cemetary was packed and families brought tents and gazibos so they could camp over night or stay their all day. My Tita explained to me it was a time when all the family members could come together and just hang out. It's a way of celebrating the lives of your loved ones. I wish we could celebrate All Saint's the same way in the UK; but something tells me it wouldn't go down very well.

On Sunday night, Gina (my stepmom) and my lil sis, Chlara came to collect me and we went to MOA (Mall of Asia, the biggest mall in Asia) before heading back to their place in Laguna, San Juan, Alaminos. Since I've been here I've just been chilling with Gab (lil bro) and Chlara playing music, singing, eating, watching films etc... I love being here!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb