Philippines Adventures - Fashion TV Asia, Some Salt, and Tattoos


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Cebu » Cebu City
March 17th 2009
Published: March 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Finishing blog the following week recapping.


Well, it is now Monday again and I have to really take the time to remember everything I did within the last few days. Time flies faster the speed of light once you cross a certain time in your life you know the quarter century old mark? Yes that’s where it suddenly goes 0-950 mph in .5 seconds and then you stop to reflect after the fact that it’s too late. That is why I definitely take each day more seriously conjoined with not taking myself too seriously. Who should take themselves too seriously? Just do your job well, don’t hurt anyone around you and have fun.


Being interns here at Bigfoot, part of our job is to be prepared to shoot even if it’s last minute and last Wednesday was just that. A make up artist was scheduled to come to Bigfoot for a project so we utilized their talents and organized a shoot for FTV Asia. Lisa, our stylist originally from the states, pulled together some great outfits for Merrile and I to wear that suited us. I wore a beige dress that was outlined in black resembling an Asian pattern, tight fitting, hair pulled back in some of the photos and a nice wave in other photos. Basically, I looked like a hot Singapore airlines stewardess if that can paint a picture in your head, classy yet sexy. Merrile’s look was a bit more fun and edgy with a black doll bare shoulder doll dress with colorful leggings. She’s quite thin so stuff like that looks fabulous on her and her look is so striking, she’s a fierce mama. Luckily there is only 3 of us models, and two photographers so it’s not always dragging on, we can all get work done in one day. Oi Ling, the other model, is here but she has been sick for most of the time, so it’s been usually Merrile and I. It turned out well and now all we are doing is waiting for post editing for it to air over here in Asia and the photos.


Thursday was a great day as it was our pick up day for any extra scenes for the short film I’ve done here in Cebu. Sunny and I went to Beverly Hills here in the city up to the Taoist Temple to try and shoot montages but because we had no permission, we had to move to plan B. Sunny has a most interesting way of working, but from all the footage I’ve seen thus far, it’s working. Instead, we shot some footage walking down the street casually for extra clips, and a make out scene. Sunny and I already did a scene in the bed and I can tell he was slightly nervous again, but this time when we did our takes, it was far more natural and not so shaky. Contrary to what I thought in my head, Sunny’s not bad at kissing though I had to direct the scene with some minor adjustments with body posture. I told him to kiss me like I was his girlfriend and forget that he’s kissing me. Out of 3 takes, the first one was the only one that was pretty bad. Infact, since he is Indian, we should probably make a bloopers clip. The second take was much better and the best of all scenes so we’re pleased with the outcome. Watching the playback of you kissing your friend who is six years younger and his debut as an actor, I don’t feel uncomfortable watching it, but I’m sure he gets fuzzy inside. ☺

Prior to us going to Beverly Hills, the guys talked about getting tattoos here in the Philippines so Julian, Sunny, Sujay and myself decided to find a shop to get some ink done. Sunny choose an emblem to put on left wrist and Sujay wrote a Hindi chant to put on his right wrist. Julian and I already have ink on our bodies so we thought about getting some done as well but our primary focus was the get those two inked up first. Julian made a couple calls to find out who is the best artist locally and it wasn’t too long before he got his answer of a guy named Inkin’ Ian in south Cebu in a town called Talisay. It took us about 45 minutes to get there during high traffic time and here in the Philippines, it’s every man for himself on the road, they are aggressive. Our directions were on Julian’s mobile phone, we were cramped in taxi when we finally pulled up to a small road off the main road and saw a sign that said
Sunny's tattoo Sunny's tattoo Sunny's tattoo

Inked by Inkin' Ian in Talisay City, Cebu.
‘TATTOO.’ Sleeved up on both arms, legs, plug in the ear and one sterile room, Inkin’ Ian was our guy for the night having all of his recognitions over the years up on display in his work area. Word has it he’s pretty known here in the Philippines for his work, so we were there to test his skills. The Indians were getting tattooed in the Philippines.

This was Sunny’s and Sujay’s first tattoo ever, they were nervous because it’s not common for tattoos back home so if they were going to get one, it had to symbolize something special, but having several tattoos myself it goes without saying for every and anyone who wants permanent ink. I told Sunny that it’s addicting and as soon as he gets his first done, he’ll want more. The pain is addicting and erotic; at the same time it’s funny how tattoos can trigger your comfort level, your threshold of pain, and even your thought process. Sunny was first the one to get his cherry popped by the poke of a needle. I stood there watching taking photos and Julia recorded the whole session on HD so we made sure we had every aspect of the experience on film. After Sunny was done with his, Sujay was next and sure enough once Sunny got up from the session, he told me he wanted another. He said no one has ever convinced him to get a tattoo before, and I was the one that changed his mind. When he told me how I had something to do with the decision of him getting a tattoo, it not only put a smile on my face hearing how I can influence others to do something they don’t normally do or would do, but have done when I’ve around. If I’m a good influence, that’s awesome. Who wants to be a bad influence? Surely not me.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb