Bantayan Island


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Cebu » Bantayan » Sta Fe
October 27th 2011
Published: October 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Trike ride 21 secs
All went well with my 1 hour flight from Palawan to Cebu 11 days ago, and no problems getting a metered taxi from the airport to my hotel in the city centre. I must say that Cebu City is not the prettiest city I have ever seen. There seems to be a fair bit of poverty around and quite a few shady characters. For the first time in the 10 months of my latest trip I had a couple of guys on 2 seperate occasions within 30 minutes trying to get close enough to me waiting for a chance to pickpocket me. On my second day in the city I decided to go to the Ayala Shopping Center with Phil, a guy staying at my hotel. I spent the afternoon having a look around the impressive mall and enjoying a couple of lates overlooking the outside courtyard.

The next day I caught a taxi to the north bus terminal where I caught a bus to Hagnaya, the jumping off point to Bantayan Island. The bus took about 3 and a half hours and then I hopped on the ferry for the hour and a bit trip to the island. Once on the island I caught a short bicycle trike ride to Sante Fe where I found a very nice room for $19 a night. Sante Fe is a very laid back place with a few guesthouses, resorts, and tourist restaurants scattered around. The town itself is surrounded by some nice beaches all within a couple of minutes walk.

The first few days here I did very little due to being stung just under the eye by some insect. It swelled up quite quickly so I headed to the clinic to get looked at went back to the hotel with some creme and anti-histamines. I got a bit worried when overnight it seemed to get worse so I headed off to the hospital up the road in Bantayan and they prescribed some antibiotics to take. Whilst out the front of the hotel one day I ran into about 20 guys all dressed in army gear with guns who were off to play in a tournament of Airsoft, a bit like paintball but with plastic balls instead. They were off to play in some coconut groves down the road and after that they hopped into some pump boats which I assumed would head to one of the islands for the next round. It looked like it would be a lot of fun.

After a few days the swelling went down so I hired a motorbike one afternoon and headed to the hotel receptionists' house about 20 minutes from town to see her house, have a chat with her Swiss husband, and take a few photos of the lovely sunset. The following day I rode to Madridejos at the far north of the island to have a walk around a small fort and to see some of the island. Whilst on the end of the pier I came across a school group of boys, had a chat with them and took a few photos before getting back on the bike and heading to some mangroves on the other side of Bantayan. For 50 cents you can have a walk along a short bamboo bridge that they have built within the mangroves. It was a nice peaceful spot and a good place to take some photos. After that I returned to Sante Fe to drop off the bike and get back into my aircon room to cool down.

The next morning I hired a basketball off one of the young trike riders and played for a couple of hours with some of the kids. By the time we stopped my tshirt and shorts were covered in sweat. In the afternoon I took a trike to Ogtong Resort where I paid a couple of dollars to use their pool and have a look around the place. I just relaxed for a few hours and felt like a rich tourist for once. That evening the young trike rider took me to his village where they were playing a couple of competitive games of basketball under lights. I found the experience fantastic, with dirt court with drawn in keys and 3 point lines, surrounded by banana trees and coconut palms, most of the villagers watching, and even commentary of the games on loudspeaker. Seeing I was the only white person around I got a lot of stares, but was very welcomed and offered one of the few plastic chairs to sit on. At half time when I got up to have a few shots at the basket I felt very nervous with about a hundred people looking at me and even the commentator making a few remarks over the loudspeaker about me. I think I hit only one shot in 6 and even shot an airball, very embarrassing. I just wish I had my camera with me.

By the time I leave tomorrow for the island of Negros I will have spent 9 very relaxing days here. They have some nice beaches, a good sized island to ride around, and friendly locals. I can see why quite a few foreigners live here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb