Launching a CD, Lifting our Spirits


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Baguio
November 18th 2008
Published: November 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Salidummay, a band attached to the cultural group launched their new CD tonight. The launching was a wonderfu success, with a big crowd and plentiful cheering. I had a great time, as I always do at these kinds of events, mingling and chating with friends and coworkers I don't see that often, and playing around with my friends from the cultural group.

It has hit me recently just how important these gatherings are to activists working in such a stressful atmosphere. I used to love the get togethers, solidarity nights and celebrations because I am a social butterful with a nose for a good party. I love nothing more to be "out", floating on the energy of a crowd, seeing just what interesting and new things I can see and do. But recently, as the work of the Surface James Bala! Campaign has started to get to me, and as the emotional exhaustion has become persistant, I have been shying away from social events. As I drag myelf out of the office at nightfall these days I always feel too tired, too sad, too full of difficult emotions to be around other people.

And yet, despite my desire to sit on the couch and escape into my tv, there have been an abnormal number of gethers and events in the last two months. All of these things have been planned well in advance, and just happen to be falling within the Surface James Balao! Campaign. And yet, despite the conincidence, the timing really has been perfect.

Even as I have forced myself to these activisities, normally things that I promised to attend, on pain of death, well in advance, I have become aware of how important it is for me to attend. When work has become all encompassing, and wholly stressful, there is nothing that is more healthy then getting out of that atmosphere and laughing with your coworkers and your friends. There is nothing more soothing then listening to the gongs. This is where we can all find real sanity agin.

So now I look forward to these activisties. Today I counted the minutes until I could get out of the office and get to the Salidummay cd launching, becasue these are the activities, their fun and their laughter, that are keeping me sane too.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0747s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb