Surfing the waves of Baler, Aurora


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Aurora
January 2nd 2015
Published: March 15th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Wow! It happened at last!



Surfing in Baler has always been on my travel list. And it happened when my sister and I took a vacation during break from work.

January 01, 2015 when I experience the ride that I thought my patience can never endure, and I was wrong. I never get exhausted.

From Taytay, Rizal=>Calamba, Laguna=>NAIA 2=>Calamba, Laguna=>Cubao=>Baler (total of nine transfers on public vehicles!) Wow! From this, I can say that maybe I was born to be a traveller.

This trip was the best experience with regards on having no hassle on accommodation booking. When we went there, we never had an accommodation yet. From the bus station of Baler, we just asked how can we go to the beach where surfing is. A “tricycle” driver brought us to the beach area where there are lots of accommodations to choose from. We just walk the street then asked only two resorts/accommodations. We never liked the first accommodation that we saw since its ambiance was like a room for rent, without a view. We found the second and the resort where we stayed to be perfect! It’s cheap and yet very cozy. We chose to rent a hut not on their concrete accommodation. The beautiful hut was made of only bamboo and nipa with a refreshing front view of their lawns and a beach.



Surfing was the main agenda of going to Baler. The first day of surfing was the best. Both of us easily learned how to stand on the surf board maybe because we lived our childhood near the beach. As a child, we knew how to ride the waves even with a storm signal. And the thrill of being on the sea had never been spoiled by the storm-all these without the parent’s consent (Children, don’t do this!). It’s truly amazing how a child is never afraid of anything, because they don’t think too much of the cons of things. And I loved for having an adventurous childhood. I think my adventurous childhood is now coming back. The waves of Baler are too strong. As a beginner, we cannot surf on our own. We need instructor to guide us. Balancing is very easy for us but catching the perfect waves to ride and the timing are still owed from the instructor.

On the second and last day of my try to surf, I fell down and my upper lip was crashed into the gravel. I felt a tolerable numbness of my lip but as soon as it faded, I told my instructor that I love to try again. This is just who I am, I never get easily disappointed with unfortunate things as long as I know the reason why things happened.

To explore the place, we barely rode, we walked a lot. And by walking, we experienced a bit of the place's culture. We came across a little girl with her sister taking her picture and when my sister asked a little girl to pose, the little girl gamely posed and smiled like a model and it’s very natural! We even saw a crowd of young adults and adults washing their clothes. They asked us to take them a picture and they seemed to be happy to see us. And one of the best stops while walking was when we saw this bakeshop along the road. Bakeshop has a place in my heart for we already started one but have to stop operating it due to some circumstances. Since I am a coffee lover, I ordered their freshly brewed coffee and my sister had a green tea. Their chocolate cake tasted very delicious, perfect sweetness. And their blueberry cheesecake was like it melts in your mouth.

This is the kind of travel that I love, try to be one of the locals...

I will definitely be going back here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb