I miss my wonderful Nepal


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
August 19th 2013
Published: August 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

I am back in China and just want to say how much I miss Nepal. It sounds foolish since I was there such a short time but something about that country just fits right into a space in my heart...cheesy but how else can I explain it. It's all a feeling. There's no logic or reason to why I wanted to go there so badly or why I want to be back so much. Returning to China means Chinese people and the frustrating things of the culture here. It means responsibility and work and real life. But I must say things that also exhist here are a washing machine, or even the ability to wash clothes by hand the way I know how, and to hang them to dry without mistakenly hanging them on the cow side of the building which makes them forever stink of cow, or where my underwear fly off and the boys find it and the girls try to quietly inform me that my "panties" fell with embarrassing whispers. Clean teeth, it's good to feel clean teeth again, I don't know what the deal is there but there's never a feeling of clean teeth.

Things are better now that I returned, spent my alone day hiding at my house, and now have told friends I am back. I got to hang out with Maria and my attitude is no longer constantly, "freaking Chinese." I don't want to be in your photos while I sit on the subway. I don't want you to think you're cute because you said hello when I passed. Now it's all okay. I am starting to have understanding about why I am feeling frustrated here. The main generalizations I am feeling right now are that the people here are so so proud and act so uneducated. I was in a country which is far less developed than China but the people are concious, aware, considerate even. Anyway, there's that!

Advertisement



29th August 2013

It was nice to see what you have been up to. Been thinking of you. Back to reality for me too that school has started.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb