Godavari again


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
March 18th 2011
Published: March 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Four weeks ago now, on the day before we went to Bhaktapur, I went with my Nepali family to a wedding - it was definitely not what I was expecting. When we arrived the bride and groom were sitting near a holy area full of offerings while guests queued up to give them gifts and wash their feet. Apparently they just have to sit there like that for most of the day, while their guests make the most of the huge buffet. There seemed to be a lot of eating and talking to family involved, no dancing or big ceremony, and as Gunjan didn't recognise most of the guests, we just sat for a bit, then ate, then sat some more, and then left! It was definitely an experience, but I think I prefer English weddings! All the clothes were very pretty though - most of the women were wearing red saris for the occasion. Our journey to the wedding was also quite entertaining - we managed to squeeze 5 people into a taxi where 4 people would find it a squeeze (I think I was sitting more on Fay's leg than on the seat!). I think there are 2 parts to a wedding - a dancing and singing part that happens at the groom's house (I've been to 3 in Godavari - and made to hindi dance in front of lots of Nepali women - I can't dance!) and then the bigger ceremony with no dancing.
More recently, since there was a holiday last Tuesday, I joined Fay and some of her students for a picnic, which involved first a hike up a nearby hill to where the paragliders launch from - so it was very high. I'm normally quite good at walking but it was so hot and dusty that I was pretty tired by the time I reached the top - it was worth it though for the views we got over the hills and Godavari. Rhodedendron flowers are also starting to come out (Nepal's national flower). I think they are some sort of delicacy as all the children were running ahead to climb the trees and eat the flowers.
Later, back at the house, Fay and I made our families pancakes to celebrate shrove Tuesday - i think they liked them, and they actually worked.
Success at school: I've taught them Doe a Deer from the Sound of Music which they love, and the Hokey Cokey is still going strong!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Our housesOur houses
Our houses

Mine is the short red one, and Fay's is the tall blue one.


18th March 2011

Good stuff
Em - really loving reading your blog this afternoon (tis now 1.57 in wet, grey Brighton). Very interesting and packed full of great detail. Loads of love; Pete
20th March 2011

Your blogs are amazing, thank you for sharing it! Have you thought of teaching" head shoulders knees and toes" to your class? J xxx

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb