Arrival at Khatmandu Airport


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
January 3rd 2010
Published: January 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So my flight from Hong Kong to KTM was short. Only about 5 hours. The airport in KTM is tiny. I didn't have a VISA as they told me I could get one upon arrival. Only I forgot that I was told I needed cash for it. What a predicament...considering I only had $40US. A 3 month Visa costs $100 us - no CC payment - no Nepali Rupees..nada. I ended up getting only a 15 day one for $25 and now I have to go back and get it extended. I thought I was so prepared. After the Visa fiasco it was a breeze to get out of the airport and my driver was waiting for me outside with a big sign saying Amica. It was about a 30 minute drive from the airport to the hostel..there was nobody on the streets. Not like India at all. When I got to the hostel I was in a room with three other people. I was exhausted and just passed out with all my clothes on. The bathrooms are not so great...could be worse..but def NO hot water :-(

Advertisement



4th January 2010

try us
I am sorry as you have only 15 days visa for kathmandu if you need any help you can in touch with us.
4th January 2010

hoooray you made it
i have just one thing to say take picutures also when i was cleaning your apt i could not help but admire how cute it is you really have a talent for working with interiors we are all fine here and powder misses you i think he goes around smelling your furniture and looks puzzled love, me
5th January 2010

No squat toilet??? Well I am glad to hear you made it safely. It's also not surprising to hear that you already made some foreign friends. Be Happy Don't Worry! Talk to you soon, Anthony
5th January 2010

Hi
Glad you started a travel blog. Looking forward to reading about your adventures. Please keep the updates coming. Be safe and have fun. XOXO, Diana

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb