Dhulikel


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
April 7th 2014
Published: April 30th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Embrace fear...























Come in...











We made our way up the steep hill where we had been the day before. It was 5:15 am and not a sound other than that of a few birds can be heard in Bhattidanda. Bhattidanda is a small local village in Dhulikel. I remember arriving 3 days before and not knowing what to expect. With caution I made my way into town with my travel companion. It is here that I met Ram, a local who happened to own a guesthouse. Serenity Guesthouse as it was called. My first impression of Ram wasn't much. Like much of the places before, I was greeted with people trying to sell me shit, etc. I didn't want to deal with him at all. Fast forward 3 days later and we were enjoying an amazing sunrise overlooking the mountain ranges of Nepal. I am glad I was able to look beyond my worrisome mind and open myself up to new people and experiences. The experiences and lessons that I'd learned from Ram is invaluable. In an attempt to hold on to everything that we have, we shut off new opportunities to create something special with others...



Serenity Guesthouse



Sunrise over looking Dhulikel.







There are no words to describe this...







Namo Buddha Temple, Dhulikel:






"I could have acted differently today. I did not do a good job of controlling my anger and missed out on an opportunity to see some more of this beautiful town. Over 10 fucking cent...!! I was just sad that I couldn't do anything in the long run to help him and his family. To see his daughter in that state crushed me. I wish that there are no poverty and pain in life...but that is me being unrealistic. It amazes me how this guy always has a smile on his face. That leaves me to wonder what has happened to his money. Oh well, what has happened, has happened. It is what it is...no sense in crying over spilt milk..."
Journal Entry: 04-07-2014


Additional photos below
Photos: 74, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Our GuideOur Guide
Our Guide

We met him at the town center, where the bus dropped us off.


Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb