Rest day in Namche


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Namche
April 9th 2007
Published: April 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Had quite a snuggly night. Laughable really. You're still freezing your bits off really and by UK standards it's probably intolerable but to the hard Mountain Woman I have now become, it was really quite pleasant.

Couldn't stay in bed past 6.30am however (and how often have I EVER written that sentence?!) as on some sort of massive high. Everyone else stayed in bed while I got up for breakfast, read my book, wandered round town by myself, went to the Sherpa museum (all about history of Sherpas and Everest climbing Sherpas). It was great to have time by myself, me time. You can miss out on alone time on holiday and I think it's absolutely essential. For me anyway. Had to force Si out of his sleeping bag in the end though and chivvy him down town. Well there are limits...

In the afternoon went for the much longed after beer and apple pie in the cafe. Felt pretty lightheaded after just one beer, I'm pretty cheap date at altitude! Sange has managed to pull our flights forward by one day, I don't really want to leave the mountains sooner. All the 21st Century Western life can wait. Suppose I do have to get my head around going back though. Just the thought of all that crap, modern, celebrity obsessed, materialistic, vapid

(pause in diary here as Rachel disappears up her own bottom.....)

...you know what I mean. Anyway, in homage to impending materialism we bought a rug and a yak bell. Tomorrow Phakding. Last stop before Lukla and our flight back to Kathamandu.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0821s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb