You've come a long way


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Nagarkot
September 1st 2007
Published: September 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sabina asked me if my mother can read and write. She was impressed when I said that she could. She said that her mother cannot. Sabita, who lives next store, also said her mother cannot read or write. Sobito (FYI, I have no idea why, but it seems that girls of a similar age in this village also have similiar names) Nepal who lives down the street, said her mother went to school until grade 7. When their mothers were growing up, their parents reasoned that since the girls would grow up to be wives and work in the home, there was no reason to teach them to read and write. I was surprised to learn the girls I am teaching are the first generation of girls in which the majority of them will be able to read and write ( and 2 languages at that!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0847s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb