Soon to be leaving kathmandu.....


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
July 24th 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The first drive...

Few days to get from Kathmandu to Base Camp.

Ok, where was I.... Yes Mam and Dad I'm in Nepal, but leaving on Wednesday to g to the border with Tibet. Have had some fun filled days, now have company. Woo Hoo!!

Last time I spoke was on Friday... Did I mention that I went to the football sadium and got involved in a protest with regards to the Zidane episode and his punishment. The locals got me to sign a big mural that they are planng to send to the FIFA? On the way home from this watched an arrest, not really what for, but it is amazing how many police it takes in Nepal to put one person into a van. there were about 15 of them, mostly lounging around, watching and gobbing!!!

So yeserday during the day I did lots of visitin again. My little man was prompt though not very talkative and to be fair I was thankful he was putting all of his efforts into the driving!!! Saw lots of temples in Durbar Square and then went into the biggest Hindu tempe area where I saw rematins - they happen outside next to the river and happen 24/7. Lots of wailing and huge numbers of peple....very interesitng though a bit gruesome!! Then went onto another temple area called Bodha. All very god fun. Unfrtunatley one of the guides took a bit of a fancy to Sophie the student (which was my alias for the day) and tried to get my number....... Managed at that point to become reaquainted wth driver man and we fled pronto.

Big meet with group also yesterday - 10 of us. 3 teachers, 2 IT people, 1 student, a nurse and a slightly reserved couple that no-one knows much about. They seem OK, guess the proof will be in the next 14 nights of camping!!! The truck is well kitted ut, but the bad news is that people will hae t deal with my cooking at some point...

The plan is to drive to the border, acclimatise for a few days and then drive up to Everest Base Camp, then up onto the Tibetan plateau after few days of relaxing. Speaking of relaxing have a massage booked in for tomorrow as I thnk I need a rest after all this sightseeing.....

Advertisement



24th July 2006

They're only human
Of course your group only seems 'OK'. You're comparing them with that urbane, humourous, preternaturally attractive bunch from your Peru trip. Give them a chance.
24th July 2006

Massage??
Am astounded!! You refused a girlie massage in Peru in favour of a football game!! I knew you had hidden female qualities....... Keep the blog going, great to hear your adventures while I am stuck at work... ps your spelling is appalling
25th July 2006

Little men and spittle
Well! How much did you pay for this holiday? Gob? Riots? IT PEOPLE?!?! For your info you can go to Butlins for a 90's reunion, meet Jason Donavan, 2 unlimited and Otis the Aardvark for the small price of £80! Bonza! Thinking of doing this for Birthday as I think it would be funny. My geography sucks as I thought Everest was in Hungary. Damn Leiston High School, I can tell you what an Ox Bow lake is, but could I find my way out of a paper bag? I think not.... Your new alias will be Morag the spinster who lives in Skegness with numerous cats. And draw a moustache on with biro. Your cooking isn't crap by the way, are you sure they will have balsamic vinegar and all produce is organic? Ha! I was also quite astounded by the length of our Fathers comment....his cup overflowth! Mammy is having your ticket for the first match of the season...Jayne got kicked out of Big Brother and I am too hot. Natch. Anyway, see you soon, don't get typhoid Claire xo
28th July 2006

Monkey incident
Can remember the stolen ice cream too - Penscynor - and four small females all dressed very much alike! How's it feel to be on top of the world? Any sightings of Michael Palin or Richard Gere yet? or should that be yeti?!

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb