Arrival in Kathmandu


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
October 29th 2011
Published: October 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

KathmanduKathmanduKathmandu

Kathmandu
Finally arrived in Kathmandu, after a stop-over in Guangjhou. Let me start by saying, if you pay peanuts you get monkeys! China Southern was a very average service, half an english movie and car advertisements were shown for the nine hour flight. A man collapsed on my legs when I was asleep. I tried to ask if he wanted a Doctor and he kept waving me away, even the hostesses didn't understand what I was saying. Oh well, another life saved...

Anyway, I arrived in Kathmandu at midnight and unfortunately there was a festival on so nowhere had any rooms. Even the backpacker I shared the cab with had a reciept for a room and still was turned away. Now I know how Jesus and Mary felt, well, kind of...

I eventually got taken to a hotel where a man in his pyjamas opened a room for me. I had a good nights sleep and the next morning I spent drinking chai off the street, chatting to the owner's children about cricket in their living room and eating beautiful fresh roti for breakfast.

I put the recent Buddha Air crash out of my mind and flew to Pokhara
Chai ladyChai ladyChai lady

One soy skinny cap with half froth please
in the afternoon, that is, Nepalese time and 3hrs late. Unfortunately, the Himalayas were obscured by cloud during the flight, but I'll have plenty of other opportunities to see them over the next few weeks.

Namaste

Advertisement



30th October 2011

Love this
I am loving this blog... and the chai lady. So jealous. More pictures of food please x
30th October 2011

Love this
I am loving this blog... and the chai lady. So jealous. More pictures of food please x
30th October 2011

Love this
I am loving this blog... and the chai lady. So jealous. More pictures of food please x

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb