Day 1 - October 15th - First impressions


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
October 17th 2009
Published: October 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have never done so much talking to so many people in
a few days anywhere during my travels, even less in half a day.
Friendly is a word often used to describe the Nepalese
It is 100% accurate.

Of course many of them are very friendly because they have a product
or service to sell. But many simply say ‘Namaste’ as you walk by.
And there are wonderful people like the older man walking near me who
asked where I come from and we walked together for a good 15-20 minutes.

Kathmandu is chaotic but blame that on traffic. Cars, motorcycles, bicycles and pedestrians
share amazingly narrow streets with no sidewalks. Continuous honking is a survival tool that says
‘get out of the way’. It has nothing to do with lack of patience like drivers at home. They DO NOT drive straight lines, always swerving to avoid a person, a dog, a car or whatever else.
The ride from the airport to my accomodation in the hotel shuttle was amazing. Not scared at all because I had confidence in the driver. He controlled the vehicle through everything in the path with unlimited talent. They can fit a car in very little space.

I delivered the gifts (donations) for kids to the VIN (Volunteers Initiative Nepal) office
and was warmly greeted by Bhupi. A group of 8 new volunteers were learning some Nepali
and I shared my first plate of Daal Bhaat with them and 3 volunteers on their last day.
One of only 2 people eating with fingers , I goofed up grandly using the wrong hand.
In Nepal the left hand must never touch food. It is the dirty hand, the one used when nature calls.
Or at least this is what I read before arriving here. I ate with my left hand and realized my error after the meal. Good thing I was practising with a group of Europeans and Americans. Bhupi did not say a word.
I will not make the same mistake twice.

Kathmandu Durbar Square is large, busy and beautiful. Too much traffic with motor vehicles passing through constantly. There is a legion of tour guides on the prowl for visitors. One approached me in such a nice way that I could not avoid a conversation. Native of India, this young man speaks 6 languages including English, French and Italian. I insisted many times that I did not have money or need for a guided tour, he followed me around describing a lot about parts of the Square. And you keep saying you have no money for a tour guide and he goes on and on and …..

I am staying at the International Guest House, a lovely place filled with beautiful carved wood.
My room feels like a palace for $26 US a night including breakfast. Not interested in 4-5 stars hotels
but not yet ready for the very cheap ones. Traveling alone makes me long for safe and clean places to sleep.

Not very hungry for dinner I had something light at the Guest House where Laura, who works with soldiers in Afghanistan invited me to share her table and it was a pleasant and interesting meal.
I always and still enjoy hearing about other people’s adventures all over the planet.

By 21h00 I was too tired to look at my first day photos.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb