Last Visit to Nepal :(


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
November 8th 2007
Published: December 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sera and KiranSera and KiranSera and Kiran

my crazy auzzie friend and sweet kiran out on a canoe in pokhara
As I traveled back to Nepal, crossing the border from India I instantly felt a different feeling. Like going home. Nepal has turned into my home away from home. The comfort I feel there, hearing the language again, and just being back in the country puts a certain ease to my being and a huge smile on my face.

Traveling back with Sara, a 24 hour ride hour ride on the local buses- not for the light hearted....quite the journey- but we finally arrived in Pokhara. My friend Kiran came down to meet us in Pokhara- so good to be back in Nepal and see old friends again!! A nice time, taking out a canoe, going to see some live shows, Sara and I rented a motorbike for an afternoon to go see a waterfall- i'm an expert driver now, btw 😉

Then Sara and I decided to go on a 3 day rafting trip, something I wanted to do my first time in Nepal. So so so so nice to be out in nature again after being in Varanasi. About 20 people split up in 3boats, amongst beautiful green hills, a river filled with rapids, camping out- a really impressive camp they set up with a tiolet camp and everything! Got to have a go on one of the kayaks- which I loved, something I would like to pick up in the future.

Made my way back to Kathamandu and stayed there for about a week before my visa ran out. Went to visit old friends at VSN, and spent a night with my nepali family- so nice to be back in Kathamandu. I really LOVE Nepal! Going to a lot of Kiran's shows (Nebha)- getting my groove on again. On my last night in Kathmandu, Nebha was performing for a private party, but didnt know what the party was for. So i went along, and as I was helping to unload their equipment someone walked up looking for the party and asked the security guard- 'is this the Jane Goodall party?' I was so shocked! The small party ended up being for Jane Goodall, such a treat for me to be there! She gave a small speech and I even got a chance to speak to her for a moment, just sharing my appreciation for a strong woman- a traveler (she went to africa in the 70s by herself to live amonst chimpanzees!) a scientist, and an overall philanthropist. A nice way to end my last day in Nepal.

Leaving Nepal was a very emotional day for me- not knowing when I'll be able to return, leaving behind good friends and a beautiful country- a place that will always be in my heart.

After the rafting trip I got a bit of a common cold, which only got worse and worse....the pollution in kathamandu didnt help. I've been in Dehli for 3 days now and finally got talked into going to a doctor, and it turns out I got an infection and now have acute sinusitus (sp?) really f-in sucks- got pretty sick with everything hurting, even my eye balls....but got some medicine and feeling better already. Heading down to Goa tomorrow, and chill out by the beaches for a few weeks before I leave India and head to Belgium. So i think for sure the sun and beach will lift my spirits and health again. The Diwali festival is starting tomorrow, and from what I've heard it's quite the celebration in India- so looking forward to that.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Kiran and h is nieceKiran and h is niece
Kiran and h is niece

the cuteist little girl in nepal


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 68; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb