First Volunteer Reunion and the Monkey Temple


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
October 18th 2007
Published: November 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

There was a volunteer party out in Bistachaap the other day and now we have the first weekly volunteer reunion. It's only been a week, but the days do go by pretty slowly. Everyone lives so much more relaxed and slow placed out here (exception: traffic). So it's quite a nice change of pace. The only thing I've really stressed about thus far is avoiding the daal bhaat and trying to stay healthy. The second one will become easier with time, but I'm not sure I can say the same about the food. There's only so many excuses one can repeatedly use for not eating. How about I bribe them with chocolate if they allow me to eat ramen noodles without any kind of questioning? Who doesn't love chocolate (PS- I do now).

So much drama on the homefront. With this many people coming together there's bound to be some sort of issue every once in a while. Think: Real World (whatever happened to that show anyway?!). No details required, but it is pretty juicy stuff if you must know. I'll let your imaginations get the best of you. At least there are good people here though. There is always someone to talk to, watch out for you and have your back. That is so important to have. But regardless, I do really miss all of my amazing friends back home- you know who you are and you mean the world to me. You're the best thing that's ever happened to me- I'm so lucky! I'm not going to name names here, but I really love you all. LOVE YOU LOVE YOU LOVE YOU. You, in addition to my family, are what's pulling me to eventually return back home (as opposed to moving somewhere completely ridiculous like New Zealand, though that would be A-MAZING). But honestly, some of you seriously need to consider hopping on a plane to come visit. Six months is just too long. DO IT. Okay, heartfelt talk over.

I am very happy right now. I really cannot explain why, since any typical person in my situation would probably be completely the opposite. But I've never really been able to decipher myself, so I'm not going to start now. Smile, laugh, and don't ask why.

Before heading up to Pokhara for the health clinic, I checked out the monkey temple here in the valley. I risked my life in an attept to take a photo of a baby monkey, and momma monkey lunged at me twice to get her point across that she was not messing around. She was hovering right next to my bag, so grabbing my belongings has certainly been less of a health threat. The only thing going through my mind at that point was that I'm not protected against rabies and I'd have to be hospitalized for a monkey attack. Certainly makes a good story though mildly ridiculous.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb