Mega Nepal Mall


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
September 5th 2005
Published: September 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Sadhu for SaleSadhu for SaleSadhu for Sale

I have to pay 50 rupees just so this sadhu will pose for me. What can I say? In a capitalist world, everything's for sale.

One of the first things I bought when I arrived in Thamel - Kathmandu's backpackers center - was a calculator. Given my propensity to convert everything (in Singapore, US and Philippine currencies) and also to curtail my spending, a calculator is a necessity for me.


Although I stayed in Singapore for over four years - a country where shopping is a national sport and the shopping malls lining Orchard Road are considered major tourist spots - I was never bitten by a shopping bug. I don't like buying things that I really don't need. It's a waste of time. money and energy. Plus, I learned my lesson. A few years ago, I was so depressed, that I used my credit card to buy my happiness. This even if I was a poor newspaper reporter in Manila. I incurred massive debts, that I had to accept tons of writing jobs just to clear my debts.

The calculator, however, failed to curb my spending mania.

My inner shopping goddess reappeared in Kathmandu. How can I resist, especially in Thamel, where every inch of the land was devoted to all forms of commerce - from
Shops In BhaktapurShops In BhaktapurShops In Bhaktapur

Kathmandu is definitely a shoppers' paradise. Whether you are in Thamel or in any temples in the Kathmandu Valley, you'll always find shops selling all sorts of things - thanka paintings, food, film, cds, beads, tshirts, trekking services, yoga lessons, etcetera, etcetera
cafes to shops selling frilly hippy skirts, from cd shops to guesthouses and travel agencies.

So yeah, I bought myself some handmade paper, kurta, iodine tablets, Himalaya beauty care products, veggie burger, mango jam, coffee, shampoo, paperbacks......

I'm just thankful that I kept my credit card under my backpack. Whew!





Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Colors of ThamelColors of Thamel
Colors of Thamel

Colorful bed covers for sale in Thamel


20th September 2005

beautiful memories
I am a girl from Nepal pursuing her education in the U.S. Reading this article was fun. It reminded me of my homecountry. Thank you so much. If you wanna be my friend, write in: passionflower_barsha@hotmail.com

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb