Johnny go go in nepal


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
April 30th 2007
Published: April 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Howaye all,

Its been a wee while since my last update, have fit a bit in since then so woeandbehold the following account of my latest trabbeling…

Current status: Nepal

Its Johnny a go-go here for me at the moment. Im only in the door and have already embarked on a 2 day white water rafting trip, 4 day kayaking trip and a day’s rock climbing.

Rafting: Lots of fun. First day was mild and left me thirsty for more hardcore rapids then later that night we had a delightful storm with lots of rain that got the river a raging for full throttle next day. We had no major accidents to fill ye in on so we created our own by throwing the guide in the river. Received my first ever leech suck.on my foot.

Rock climbing: 3 of us went with a bunch of Nepalese guys. 2 of them was their first time climbing. They scrambled up the rock faces in 2 secs flat….walking muscles that put me to shame.

Kyaking: Myself and a Canadian guy headed off for 4 days of white water kayaking. This got underway with a lesson in safety rescuing which involved giving each other a ‘T-rescue’. Ty capsized himself and I had to knock my boat against his where he’d haul himself up with his hands on the tip of my boat. So I proceeded to knock my boat off the side of his only to ricochet back and float further away from his. Meanwhile Ty is stuck under water waving his hands in the air looking for my rescue. I begin to panic at this site, loose my paddles and decide to reach my hands out to his to try and help. This resulted in the misfortune of me also capsizing. So 2 of us were now helplessly under water waving our hands in the air. When ty eventually emerged by using his emergency exit pull all he saw was his rescuer upsidedown in the water.
Aside from that disastrous start we began to improve. Ty had abominable balance, tipping over at the sight every moving current but took to the Eskimo rolling like cream to a swiss roll. Me myself, however, kept relatively stable in my kayak but failed miserably with the rolling.
The final day saw us take on a 30km trip down the river taking on some grade 4 rapids. Waking up that morning with a dirty rotten hangover from roxy Nepalese wine filled me with regret and fear as I also smoked a cowabunga amount of cigs leaving me short of breath and hence, inhibiting my tolerance for underwater durability. Our first major rapid saw me go under with the first big wave. I quickly escaped from the kayak and swam the next 100mt down white water desperately avoiding the boulders and hydraulic holes… fuckin scary business but the best feeling after surviving such a task. The grade 4 rapid we took on had been the big one we were waiting for. We parked up our kayaks and walked up river to scout out the rapid aptly called ’Upset’. There was only one path from which you had to approach this, any other way and you were going under. So after the lowdown we were given the option of going down in the raft or kayak…. Of course it had to be in a kayak, however tempting the raft sounded. On we went, the guide, Myself and ty. I approached it well, staying in the correct line getting beaten with the waves. After the final big wave before the difficult exit point my kayak decided to leg it sideways and a big dirty wave came and smashed me from the side and under I went in the raging waters. The waters eventually popped me out and got me floating again and I laughed hysterically for the rest of the day.
Our way back to kathmandu we caught a local bus with all the kayaking and camping gear. Hopped it all on the roof including ourselves and smoked some well deserved spliffs driving through valleys passing a the odd burnt out truck, bus that tipped over the edge of the steep roads and watched the sunset….Amazing.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb