The Next Day


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamal
April 17th 2015
Published: April 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hi Followers, I will go back in time and continue on from the night before.
The other members of our group are Michael from Sydney (23yo) Doris from Canada about 25, Claudia from USA California but originally Mexico, Nat and myself. We had to be ready to leave the hotel by 6.15am for our flight to Lukla. We were all a bit apprehensive as Lukla is one of the 10 worst airports in the world. The runway is about 300mts long with a brick wall at the end, I guess just incase the brakes don't work. As we were getting in the plane Mr Guan tapped me on the shoulder and said left side so Michael who was right behind me and I sat on the left. Take off was fine, below was green hills homes the regular stuff. After about 20mins I happened to look up and was amazed at the mountains now visible, I turned around and Michael obviously had got bored as he had his buff over his eyes so I tapped him and pointed up he too was in awe.
The plane banked a little and we were heading for the runway. We could see out the front window (very small plane) and all held our breath. We landed and applauded the pilots.
We unloaded and met our porters Kumar and Bissell, picture time then off for a briefing.
First stop Phakting.About 3 hour trek, 8 km.

Advertisement



17th April 2015

In time
So does "in time I will go back" mean while you are still over there now or in years to come? It does sound both awe inspiring and intimidating all at once. Are you still in Kathmandu? Have you seen the statue that the poem refers to or is that a myth? Linda
18th April 2015

in years to come. I had in my thoughts somthing about Kathmandu for a while so googled the poem. This place is near Nargokot so will go see and take a picture. I don't think its a hugh tourist thing which will be nice.
Put all my comments in the title box . Oopps.

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb