Kathmandu - not just a clothing label


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamal
November 25th 2008
Published: December 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello!

You'll have noticed that I haven't blogged in a while. Not since Lhasa...where, according to some enthusiastic and prolific messages and comments on my blog, my American ass (it didn't know it was American and is now in counselling) shouldn't have been. If anyone would like to discuss the Tibetan situation and my thoughts on the Chinese occupation, feel free to send me an email? And maybe try to limit your use of fvck??
Jules - thanks for your comment! It was lovely and the nicest that I had!

So, I wasn't going to write any more - rather I thought I would rely on the happy medium of facebook, where I get to choose my friends. However, after discussing blog-merits with a lovely gentleman while enjoying the pleasure of lining up for an Indian visa, I have decided to continue (thanks Mr Salad - I am expecting at least one comment!)

Needless to say, the rest of Tibet was spectacular. We had 4 further days after Lhasa to annoy our guide with questions like: "is that Everest?", "no", Is THAT Everest?, ".....no!" until we finally saw a range of mountains that was so obviously higher than the other mountains that we'd seen...we didn't have to ask whether THAT was Everest. It was, and it was freeeeeezing.
We also saw myriad protector gods, past-present-future buddhas and monasteries along the way, as well as pilgrims from all over Tibet. Our guide was quite good at explaining about the various Lamas and the Chinese goverments influence (but if you want a discussion about that, please email!).

I'm not sure who thought it was a good idea to drink a Budweiser (there was no other choice) at Everest Base camp before bed. Maybe one of my travel companions was trying to hook up? (he succeeded - but a can of Bud probably wouldn't work anywhere else in the world). It may have been the 5000m altitude as well, but we woke up the next morning with the WORST headache/hangover ever.
Completely ignoring any Altitude sickness advice, we promptly drove up to 5200m to the base camp, where we climbed a hill and took pictures...of cloud. 😞

More stunning views and random small-Tibetan-town adventures followed. Mostly involving long long winding dirt roads, charming dirty kids and freezing hotel rooms with no shower. It was brilliant!

After the longest, landslide prone, constantly being repaired road down to the border - we crossed into NEPAL! It was another world, lots of noise, light, colour and vegetation after the Tibetan plateau.
We drove into the middle of a festival in Kathmandu - including a rave in front of our hotel. Severe culture shock.

I spent a couple of days looking around Kathmandu before heading to Pokhara and the 15 day Annapurna Circuit.
More spectacular mountain scenery, a pass at 5400m and some interesting Nepalese hospitality. If you aren't on facebook and you'd like to see photos, please send me a message and I'll send you a link.

I'm off to India - and hopefully another blog post there! Cheers (and Happy Christmas/Holidays to all of you)



Advertisement



4th December 2008

Better late than never
I'm glad you've carried on the tradition of back=packing by ignoring all safety warnings. How else could hi-jinx be performed? I'm glad you are safe in India and I hope you aren't missing beef too much while you are there.
12th December 2008

Slander...
"Lovely gentleman?" You make me sound like I'm about 80 and like to sit on park benches to feed pigeons... (well the second part is true) I'm more used to the term "Northern ****." Good luck with the travels Katie - I shall follow your progress on here. I'm expecting more photos though - particularly if you spot any of those beautiful XC34 model escalators... Take care!
17th December 2008

Merry Christmas Miss P.
Merry Christmas Miss P.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb