Life is Good in Kathmamdu!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamal
November 10th 2008
Published: November 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am safe and sound in Kathmandu! We had a great (but cold) trip through Tibet to Mt. Everest Base Camp. The mountain is beautiful and we had perfectly clear weather the entire time! I have some great photos that are on a CD locked inside a camera shop at the moment. I was supposed to pick up the disk ay 7pm, but there was a power cut around 6:15pm and it looks like the shop closed up for the night with my disk inside. I'm trying not to panic... I'll get it in the morning so you'll have to wait for the photos.

After Mt. Everest, we drove to the Tibet-Nepal border and spent the night. The next morning we walked out of China, crossed the Friendship Bridge, then walked into Nepal where were bought out visas and began an awesome six hour drive to Kathmandu. After four days of beautiful, but barren Tibet, it was so nice to see green grass and trees again.

The GAP trip ended on the evening of the 8th and we had a fun farewell dinner. We did all take a morning mountain flight with awesome views of Everest and we then had a farewell breakfast. It was a good group and we all mixed well. Catherine, our leader, was great and I enjoyed her.

Mo and I are on our own in Kathmandu amd having a fun time. Details and photos to follow. We're off to dinner now, but I wanted to check in and let you know I'm fine. I've also finally been able to get election night details!!! Yeah Barack Obama! Yeah NC for going Democratic! Yeah for Kay Hagan (US Senate) and Beverly Purdue (first female governor of NC)!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb