Day #14 - Descending Kala Pattar (Team Phot First)


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Gorak Shep
November 29th 2012
Published: December 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Posing for one last photograph at the top of Kala Pattar (5550m), the “Mountain Machine” began the descent back down to Gorak Shep. For some reason, it had been decided earlier in the trip we needed a team name – so “Mountain Machine” was chosen, which had its origins as a reference to Arnold Schwarzenegger and requires the reader to say it in the words of Arnie himself.

The journey down for me was very slow – the last of the group to reach Gorak Shep. Not only were my knees were very painful (I had not been able to take any anti-inflammatory tablets due to still having an empty stomach), but also my state of fatigue coupled with the persistent feeling of being on the verge of blacking out and about to vomit meant I stepped and stumbled down the mountain in a less than coordinated fashion. – it was to my later amazement I had actually fallen over at any one time.

I knew I had to get back to the lodge as quickly as I could, so willed myself to concentrate every step of the way until I had reached the softer lower slopes of Kala Pattar and then eventually the sandy plane that lead to the lodge at Gorak Shep.

Arriving at the lodge was a huge relief, but I knew I was in quite a state. I was only able to drink about ¼ litre of water, was shaking, felt very sick so could not eat anything (Nepalese or Chocolate) and my headache was getting worse. I briefly discussed with Dirge my guide leader whether I was fit to join the group on the afternoons trek to EBC, and firmly told him I would not be able to make it. He prescribed to me a cocktail of tablets which included some anti-sickness and some strong painkillers, and I was packed off to my lodge room, fully dressed, with a hot bottle of water for company. When the shaking had subsided after some 30 minutes or so, I finally drifted off into a sleep for a good few hours.

I awoke around 1630, feeling better than before, but still not hugely better. I waited downstairs for my group to return from EBC. An hour or so later, as darkness had fallen, they arrived very tired but triumphant. I congratulated them on their superb achievement and received comments of concern on my wellbeing in return. Whilst I had achieved what I had intended to achieve on this trip (summiting Kala Pattar), I knew that this achievement would be always be overshadowed by the fact I had failed to reach EBC. I discussed with Dirge about going the next morning and he agreed that I could with one of the Guides.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb