Dingboche - They call it a rest day. Ha!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Dingboche
November 19th 2006
Published: November 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

**Entry completed 28 Nov 2006**


We trekking up to around 4900m today. So much for the rest.

I was pleased that my knee held out and my breathing has improved. There are still members of the group which permanently feel out of breath.

A number of people continue theirown risky quests and gain no respect from the rest of the group. To run of these mountains (even for a short time), show symptoms of AMS and continue to push yourself beyond medical advice should attract nothing lesss than failure.

Another member goes out alone into the freezing cloud. No map, no guide. An act that the individual may consider brave, but really they show no more intelligence than a 3 year year old.

The glory of the mountain backdrop has gone. Dingboche is covered in cloud. The temperature has dropped to below zero and 13 of us which decided to stay out of bed are pleased that the stove has been lit. It's 14:21 my feet feel really cold and damp. This afternoon we had chips and Tuna Sandwiches. I usually hate tinned tuna, but in these conditions calorie gain outweighs personal taste most of the time.

Our goal is nearing. Tomorrow Loboche and then Base Camp. I'm not too sure I will go to Kala Patar for views of Everest. I have already seen it on several occasions. Base Camp is my goal and the challenge for which people have sponsored me to complete.

This cold feels far from the heat of Doha.

A couple of people have braved the shower here which consists of a bucket of water over a tin shack. Most of us are content just to smell.

Alan has just told me the Doc's guidebook says to expect yaks fleas in the mattresses at Lobuche. Makes me look forward to tomorrow.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb