Sauraha


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Chitwan
February 20th 2008
Published: February 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Early in the morning I left the guest house and went looking for the bus stop. The city was absolutely dark and when I was walking through the little streets and alleys I was kind of scared. I arrived at the bus stop savely and the trip could get started after sorting out the ticket thing.

It took a bit more than five hours to get to Sauraha. It is only 90 kilometers from Kathmandu but the streets are in a bad condition. It is not possible for the busses to drive into Sauraha therefore you get dropped a bit outside of town. There are many Taxi drivers waiting for you....unfortunately if you are not interested in a hotel, they won't drive you anywhere. They get kick back from the hotels and therefore you have to argue hard to get them to drive you into town. Honestly, I almost lost my temper. After half an hour I managed to convince one of the guys and finally arrived in Sauraha where I could meet up with Marc.

The first three days we just relaxed and had a lazy time. This was great for me so I could calm down and get used to the slow pace. For Marc it was a break during travelling and he enjoyed it as well.

Sauraha is South-West of KTM and therefore it is a bit warmer. Still cold enough that three or even four layers of clothes are needed at night time for dinner. During the day the temperature was quite warm and we managed with only a T-shirt.






Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb