Chitwan National Park


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Chitwan
September 2nd 2005
Published: September 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Grab bus for ChitwanGrab bus for ChitwanGrab bus for Chitwan

These rolling death-traps they call buses are rough. Luckily, the drivers go real fast making me feel right at home.
Okay...so now I am in Jaiupr, India and have finally uploaded my photos. So, here is my update from Chitwan National Park in Nepal:

We made it to Chitwan National Park which I can only imagine is very similar to the African Safari land. It is very flat with a river which surrounds the park. In the park are elephants, rhinos and tigers as well as lots of birds and wildlife.

We found a great place to stay (and as I keep getting many emails from people looking to travel and asking for recommendations, I will now on list the places I stay and eat at) in the Riverside Guest house. The place is right on the river (duh) and has a very friendly staff. We ate most of our meals at lovely outdoor restaurant named KC's. There are only 3 restaurants to choose from in the small town.

As the photos show, we spent some time on elephants as well as playing with them in the river. We did a trek inside the park and whacked our way through 12 feet high elephant grass. We unfortunately did not see any rhinos but we did see a few
On the river outside of National ParkOn the river outside of National ParkOn the river outside of National Park

The river separates the mainland from the Chitwan National Park. We grabbed a canoe in the morning and paddled downstream to enter the park on our hike.
monkeys and alligators.

After 3 days, we departed for the India border town of Sunali, with a quick stop at Lumbini which is reportedly the birth place of Buddha.

I hope everyone is doing well.

Larry


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Chitwan WildlifeChitwan Wildlife
Chitwan Wildlife

I believe this is an Egrid but I can't be positive...heck, I'm not sure I spelled the name right but Steve G will tell me....
Elephant GrassElephant Grass
Elephant Grass

We whcacked our way through this 12 foot tall grass in the park...Ollie caught a blade across the eyeball which was unpleasant to say the least.
Taking a breakTaking a break
Taking a break

Our guides take a seat while Ollie and I strike a pose.
A trunk of a liftA trunk of a lift
A trunk of a lift

I try and take the cool "me on the elephant trunk" photo but as you can see, it does not look so suave.
Sunset on the parkSunset on the park
Sunset on the park

From our hotel, the sunsets are amazing as we drink Rum and Cokes and enjoy the view.
Riverside HotelRiverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel

From the roof of our hotel you can see the hotel's cafe and the river.
Bay ElephantBay Elephant
Bay Elephant

This little guy is only 7 days old. He was born in the Elephant Breeding center in Chitwan (not park of the National Park).
Water buffaloWater buffalo
Water buffalo

To get to and from the breeding center, you take a canoe ferry...and here some water buffalo escape the heat with a dip.
Motorcycle shotMotorcycle shot
Motorcycle shot

Once again, i rented a motorcycle to tool around the area (and get to the breeding center). And once again as has become a trademark, I pose with my bike. And for Mark A, the bike is only a 150 cc crappy bike...like all the bikes in the region.
Elephant washing centerElephant washing center
Elephant washing center

Our hotel is right next to the area of the river where the elephants come to bathe. So of course, we joined in on the fun.
After washingAfter washing
After washing

As the sun sets and after some splashing around, I pose with the big elephant in the river.
Elephant in water on way to workElephant in water on way to work
Elephant in water on way to work

I am told that this elephant (along with others) make their way across the river to do work in the National Park (move trees, clear areas, etc.).


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb