My Unexpected Adventure in Karakorum - 01/05/1241


Advertisement
Mongolia's flag
Asia » Mongolia » Orkhon Valley
January 5th 1241
Published: November 3rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Now that I live here, I need a stable way to support myself. There is a system of currency in the city, which I was introduced to on my first day in the city. The people purchase things with coins of silver ingot engraved with symbols and letters. I need these coins to buy food, clothing, and other things. There do not seem to be many stable job opportunities in Karakorum, or anywhere in Mongolia for that matter. The only job in Mongolia is to be a soldier. After my experiences in the Cuman military, I decided I didn’t want to be a soldier. Instead I have been working various jobs around Karakorum. Sometimes, like I did on my first day in the city, I help slaughter and skin the animals. The people have a very specific way of doing this. The animal is restrained and laid on its back. Its chest is cut open and its organs were removed. The blood that filled the carcass is drained and used to make food. Every part of the animal is used. Another job I take part in is milking the animals. Most often, the animals we milk are cattle, sheep, and horses. The women manage the milking, and then use the milk to make cheese and yogurt. I also help the women create clothing. Clothes are made of numerous materials. Leather, cotton, wool, furs, and silk were used. The silk clothing is usually reserved for the soldiers, who wear it as one of their layers of armor when heading into battle. War is very significant in Karakorum and Mongolia. Very often, soldiers depart from the city, or come from another place and stop by in the city. Many of the jobs I work are related to war. I help create armor, weapons, and other things used in war. However, I have not forgotten where I am from. I do not want to simply help arm the Mongols and further destroy my homeland. When I create armor and weapons, I discretely create defects. I often help arm the horses. Each of the small but strong horses are equipped with armor and foot plates referred to as ‘stirrups’. The only time I have seen these stirrups was when I fought against the Mongols. They allow the soldiers to essentially stand up on their horse, and rotate almost a full circle. This technology is a serious advantage to the Mongols. I have been trying to remember exactly how to build and equip them, so one day I can return the information to my people. Other war supplies I help design are weapons. The main weapons I construct are lances and bows. The lances are long pole weapons, and are given to heavily armored soldiers. The bows are lighter, and are given to light soldiers. The bows are also a major advantage; with a stirrup, the combination allows for accurate and long ranged attack. I have caused as many problems as possible in all of the armor and weapons without getting caught. These many jobs have been allowing me to buy food and support myself during my stay in Karakorum.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb