Wasp stings and bike rides


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
November 12th 2012
Published: November 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The last two days have flown by and we've done so much it's almost impossible to remember everything. We continued meeting up with our new friends, Jake (from England) and Vee (Finland) who are both at the beginning of their year long trip around Asia. Two really great people! So, naturally they took to us since we're so incredible.

We took off on the motor bikes by noon in search of a more low key beach as Pentai Cenang beach was a bit over crowded and wasn't exactly what we had in mind. We made our way North through the mountains of Langkawi and towards the opposite shore as we heard of a more off the beaten track beach. It only took us about an hour and a half of driving (and a wrong turn) when we finally found it. We were definitely the only westerners here and hardly anyone on this beach which was a little more than a football field in lengthy with white, flour like sand that was amazing to laze on. The water was calm, turquoise blue and had fairly high cliffs around it. Not to mention a few mischievous monkeys looking for a free bag or helmet to take off with.

After a few hours here of chilling, the clouds and thunder began to roll over the mountains onto our nice little beach spot so it was time to get back... Unfortunately, we were doing so in a storm that didn't let up! The drops of rain felt like ice pellets hitting me and lucky for Lex, I sheltered her from the brunt of it.

Finally getting back to Cenang safely, I arranged a wedding and post birthday present for her (and well for me I guess) at a 5 star resort called the Bon Ton. This place was ridiculous! Seclusion in a stilted cabana overlooking the rice padi's and mountain ranges with the occasional water buffalo strolling through. Now this was by no means a boring stay, but we didn't do a heck of a lot more except eat, beach and well... On the last night just before dinner we decided to pack, and I changed into more appropriate 'fancy shorts' dressier if you will. I'm talking to Alexis about everything we've seen and done and then wham!!! A huge pain in my leg. I stopped mid sentence. Then Wham again a huge pain then WHAM! It put me to the floor I didn't know what the HELL was going on, except my shorts were coming off!! A huge 2 inch (to me) foreign wasp was using its business end to put me to the floor! I was freaking and the wasp was just recovering as Alexis stomped on it and ended it's Justin hating life. Thank god it only made it to my upper inner thigh and no closer to anything important. That was enough excitement for one day for me, and about 5 hours of light swelling with stabbing pinches.



After two nights of staying here, we were really sad to go but here we are back in Kuala Lumpur about to hitch our ride to Japan. Can't wait for Sushi, but I'm dreading the 7 and a but hour flight! Until the next one. Justin

Advertisement



Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb