Melaka and Kuala Lumpur


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
October 21st 2009
Published: October 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have left Singapore behind on what I can only discuss as a luxury bus massive chair, massage built into the seat and about 4 hours of pure relaxation!

Arriving in Melaka was an experience, the taxi offers were straight upon me although I had no local currency and had to find a money changer first. Once I had changed money I set off in search of a Taxi, the first one I met wanted 20rm to take me to the hostel, I knew this was to much as Martin had gone the day before and told me it cost 15rm so I ended up walking away and finding another.
Arrived at the cafe which was attached to the hostel and about 2mins later Martin walked in could not have timed it better.

The dorm was the smallest I have slept in yet but it had aircon and the beds were clean and comfy so no complaints there. Melaka is a beautiful little city perfect for spending a couple of days looking at the sights. And if the heat gets to much you can always run to the shopping mall with its lovely aircon! Bought a topman shirt here for 15rm (just under 3 pounds!).

On my last day in Melaka I took a rickshaw with Martin to see the sights its a fun way to get around in a brightly coloured form of transport!

Moving onto KL had to get up at 7 to catch the 8:30 bus as Martin needs to visit the Vietnamese embassy to organise a visit and the shut after lunch. Again the bus was luxury and very comfy.

Arriving in KL we went straight to Reggae guest house where we had booked a dorm for the night. Had been here no more than 1/2 hour when I got talking to a group of people heading to the elephant sanctuary. I had no idea what it was or where it was but off I went as it sounded good. What an adventure we had getting there. Malaysian people are lovely but if they dont know the way they will make up directions! So 3 Trains later we found the bus station to catch the bus to the Sanctuary. Bus was fine no problems there but it started to pour it down while we were on the bus! Had just about stopped when we got to the little village near the Elephants. However no taxis were running and we were told we could hire a car then told we couldn't it was all very confusing! At which point a couple who were eating in the cafe came up to us and said they were going to the Elephant Sanctuary and we could grab a lift however they did not know the way so one quick chat with a helpful Indian later and we crammed 4 of us in the back seat of a nice rental proton! The Elephant Sanctuary turned out to be 17km away but we had a lovely although cramped journey during which the cars belly got scrapped several times on the road. whoops!

Elephant Sanctuary was about 45mins away from closing when we got there but it was lovely to see some rescued Elephants being properly cared for and they are beautiful creatures. The journey home was less eventful as we knew where we were going! Once back in Reggae we chilled out and went for some food in China town, I had some lovely lemon chicken with a beer. Went to beatles bar and chatted with new friends that night was a good night!

Second and last day in KL for awhile, was more of a relaxed affair went with Martin to visit the towers, and watched Inglorious Basterds in the cinema cost less than 2 pounds. Amazing film and was just the relaxation I needed after several days of being on the go. Bus journeys don't count as relaxation as your never sure when your going to arrive!

The plan is now to move onto the Cameron Highlands for a few days of trekking in the jungle and visits to Tea plantations, Butterfly centre and strawberry farms.


Advertisement



1st November 2009

better late than never
Have just found your blog, and see how you got those elephant photos. You made good use of your 45 minutes; must have had your finger on the camera button all the time! This has brought back so many memories for me of my trip to India. You get used to not being sure when you're going to arrive!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb