Shopping!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
March 8th 2009
Published: March 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So left Singapore very early, ended up walking for a while with our stupid huge bags (everytime I have to carry my pack I begin to hate it with a passion and everything in it!) because there were no taxis but got the train and all was well. 8 hours later we arrived in Kuala Lumpur and again had taxi issues, tried to buy a coupon to get a taxi (the system they use here to stop taxis overcharging) but there was a demonstration happening outside out hotel (apparently!) so ended up on the monorail. It was the most packed monorail in the whole world, and being in Asia we were about twice as big as most people on it. We were still wearing out huge backpacks and unfortunately I squashed a few people and they didn't take it well, not a great start to KL!! It turns out there have been protests here over the use of English in schools (they want other classes to be taught in Malay) and they did turn violent on Saturday but seem to be over now.

Walking down from the monorail towards the hotel was hot and disgusting, but we saw a sea of marble and doormen ahead and that kept me going. I couldn't quite believe it when we arrived and thought it was some fantastic Asian dream. The hotel (4* incase you think we're backpacking slobs - we just know people in the right places!) is fantastic and I honestly nearly cried when I saw a bath, and then a swimming pool out the window!! AMAZING!!

Enjoying Kuala Lumpur a lot more than Singapore, is extremely multi-cultural, Chinese, Malaysians, Indians, and a mixture of religions, although a majority muslim. It has a buzz to it and has sky scrapers everywhere you look mixed with Islamic architecuture!

First thing this morning after taking serious advantage over the buffet breakfast we handwashed all our clothes, so our lovely hotel room looks like a laundrette with cloths hanging everywhere. I've completely run out of bottoms so I'm sitting here (in some beautiful Malaysian chair in the lobby) in damp shorts, probably marking it permenantly - but the choice is either that or my pjs.

We went to the central market today which was good, lovely bags and material here, unfortunatley I think I need to hide my cards from myself else I'll be bankrupt. They had a place there with the fish that nibble off the dead skin from your feet. Naturally me and Helen had to try it!! It was slightly embarressing when nearly all the fish rushed to my feet (they were a bit disgusting after 2 months running around Uganda) and the other people were almost left fishless. It tickled loads and felt very odd at first, but has made a difference to my feet and Helen's are perfect now. I now won't offend people with my disgusting orange feet!

Went to a mosque, which was sort of outdoors, had lots of people lying down on marble. We had to wear these flattering gowns which well to the floor and cover our heads. Never felt so stylish! We then went back to some of the shopping malls near our hotel. The clothes here are fantastic, about the same prices as at home (they have topshop and lots of usual brands) and I got some nicer clothes for evenings out. Forgot what it's like to be able to get hold of nice clothes easily and I feel like any hippyness that I got whilst in Africa has gone now after only a few days in Asia.

Today we went to the park here where they had a improvised drumming thing. Helen joined in and had a great time!! Was nice meeting some Malaysians and in general I've found they are incredibly friendly and helpful - probably one of the most friendly countries I've ever been in.

Got a few more days here in KL and spending some time planning the rest of our stay in Malaysia, planning on going into the highlands where the tea plantations are and then to islands on the west coast and then across to the islands with good diving on the east coast before heading back to Singapore. Have to see how it goes and how organised we are over the next few days!

Advertisement



9th March 2009

HAHA
Honestly I think this entry made me laugh the most... seriously you should be in my brain imagining these things as i read them lol it's funny... trust me lol 4* hotel you guys are lucky.... probably a lot nicer than my uni room :P xxx

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb