Smelly KL !!!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
November 13th 2003
Published: November 13th 2003
Edit Blog Post

My time in Kuala Lumpur wasn't the best time I've had. In fact it was quite depressing, stressful and caused me to doubt whether I was quite ready to be travelling in Asia at all. The city itself on first impressions was busy, dirty and smelt bad, and I was unhappy bing there. Partially, I know this is because I'm a 'country lad', but also itis because it wasn't hat nice. It did smell.
Saying that, many people I have met loved KL, sying that it had a life that other cities didn't have. I did enjoy the bustle of the night market in Chinatown, with crowds weaving their way through the stalls at every turn the words ' DVD movie, sir' being hollered across towards you. as with everywhere in South-East Asia the people were really friendly. One or two too friendly. Either half the cities population has a younger sister who will be studying in England, or the con men lack originality. On more than one occasion I found myself being asked which credit card was it best to have in England, and when I replied that I did not know as I only ever had the one, and it was not a credit card, they would ask if they could see it. 'Uhm no' would usually be my response. Am I too harsh to say that people have been taken in this way must surely be stupid? Because, I can't think of another explanation.
Around KL I saw some amazing sights, the Petronas Towers - formerly the worlds tallest building - was amazing to go up. Outside the city Batu Caves was nice to visit. a series of caves that houses a Hindu shrine inside. Here I saw my first monkey!! Alhough it wasn't that big a deal as they were pretty tame - as traders outside make money by selling peanuts for the tourists to feed them with.
I was glad to leave KL, and decided that I preferably wouldn't return for a few years, but it gave me a valuable lesson. It is important to stay in a hostel with an atmosphere and where you meet people. My time in KL probably wasn't as good as it could have been because mine lacked both. Oh well, life can't all be good.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb