The modern side of KL


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
May 29th 2008
Published: June 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I woke up this morning after 12 hours of sleep, fully rested. I check out the hostel and hit out to find something to eat. The curry laksa from last night was quite delicious. After circling the streets, I set my eyes on an Indian street eatery. The freshly made Indian nan and curry look promising.
All the waitors were gathering around the cook who was standing at the front of the shop. No one greeted or ushered me to seat. So I stood there trying to figure out whether I should find my own seat or place my order with the cook. One guy who was clueless as me stood up and left. I followed him and figure I better go somewhere else if I want to put food in my stomach.
I jumped on the Rapid KL (city metro) and made my way to KLCC (city centre), where famous Petrona Towers located. I picked up my ticket for the Skybridge and brought curry chicken turn over and a butter bun from the nearby bakery. After browsing through the mall, I made my way outside to the lovely garden/water fountain area. In view of the towers, I took them all in- majestic and grand.
This area is quite a depature from I saw yesterday. If Chinatown and Little India are the old of KL, then KLCC is certainly the new.
While I was enjoying the scenary a Malaysia woman approached me. She first compliment on my $6 Aeropostal army cap and went on to ask about my background and my plan here in KL. She was so exctied when I mentioned that I'm from U.S. It happeded that her sister is going to America to work as a nuse and she wanted to know all about out wonderful country. Something did not smell right, I told myself. As I pressed her where her sister is going to be in U.S. She did not know. "something where in NY" she said. When her "brother" showed up, he said his sister would be in San Francisco next month. Red Flag! Red Flag!!
Time to get out o there before I get myself into deep trouble. Call me a cynical or judgement, but I don't trust people easily when I'm traveling, especialy when alone. For those who remeber my Paris pickpocket story. I think I got lucky again!


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0184s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb