Touch Down KL


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
May 28th 2008
Published: May 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a 19 hours plus jorney, my flight finally touched down in KL. As soon as I got all the airport, I could immediate feel the heat and the humidity of Malaysia. The first impression of KL is "GREEN". Lushes tropical trees and bushes. New concrete buildings rise up beyond the green scenary. An urban jungle indeed.
The run down high rise came next as I made my way from the airport to the city centre. A firm reminder that despite the country's wealth and strong economy, it's not immune of proverty.
Tractors and factories revealed the city's indistrial background. Finally, as the train pulled in the KL Sentral I saw fire fighters practicing in front of the backdrope of KL Tower and Petrona Towers.
Day one in KL turned out to be quite an adventure. While many claim KL is a modern city, I saw mostly how the city is still holding on to its past. I started my day in Merdeka Square. Perhaps it's sensory overload, literally I was overwhelm in every possible way: the Indian pop music blasting on the street, the heavy traffic, air pollution, humidity in the air, and most interestingly the people. People who speak different languages but come together and work side by side. It's a beautiful thing, but at the same time I don't know how to make out of all of these new observations.
I needed a break after my tours of Chinatown and Little India, so I do what comfort me the most when I'm stress- window shopping. I hit straight to the nearest shopping center where there is cool air and a sense of order in place. I were drain from the sun and decided to call it a day.
I know I promise pictures, but it's hard to load them up in an internet cafe. More entries to come...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb