Beautiful Perhentians!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Terengganu » Perhentian Kecil
August 6th 2006
Published: August 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The train to Kota Bharu was perfect - second class sleeper train had beds with little curtains on the side. I was so exhausted after our 5 hour hike that I crashed the second my head hit the pillow. It was perfect. I had a good 5 hours of sleep - until we came to our destination. We ended up getting off at a station before Kota Bharu so that we could share a cab with the french boys who were also heading to the Perhentians.
After an easy cab-port-ferry transfer, we were on our way to Long Beach. The french boys ended up getting off at another beach, but most of the people off the ferry joined us on Long Beach (the popular tourist spot on the islands). The beach was MUCH better than I expected. I had been told about how touristy and over-done the beach was, but when I arrived there, I really liked it. Keith and I found a cheap bungalow up on one end of the beach (to anyone heading there - stay at Rock Garden, the staff are extremely friendly, and the prices are extremely low!). I wanted to get my own bungalow -
Perhentians Perhentians Perhentians

Mango Tree
but they didn't have any available...
From that first day, all I seemed to do during the day was soak up the sun. The weather was beautiful, and the beach was perfect for swimming. I bought myself some good sun tan lotion along with some powerful after-sun, and I was sorted.
A man who we had met while waiting for our train to Kota Bharu had told us about the Rock Garden as well as a cheap eating option on the island. Everything on the islands is very expensive, but with this mans recommendation, I was living extremely cheap. There was a store on the beach which took orders for food - you could order chicken or fish, and you would get a little packet of rice with your choice the next day for only 2 ringit. perfect. So that was all I ate of the island.
On one day while I was sitting in the sun, I saw a familiar man walk past me - I recognized him as Jimmy from Laos - and I ran after him. Turns out he had been travelling with Pete for a few weeks in Laos before heading down through
Perhentians Perhentians Perhentians

View from the top
Thailand. He was interesting to hear about my escapades with my passport. It was great to see someone I knew from before, and we had a good chat while bobbing in the sea.
That evening I had dinner with Jimmy and his friend Julian. At one point Jimmy was away from the table and I asked Julian how he had met Jimmy...Julian replied 'Who is Jimmy?'. Hmm...strange. Turns out, 'Jimmy' is actually Dave - who had been lying about his name the entire time I had known him in Laos! Even Pete didn't know his real name!
Another interesting occurrence on the island - one night after a long snorkelling trip (which was fantastic by the way...we went all around the island and saw a lot of colorful, wonderful things from the world under the sea) we (a canadian couple, Amber, Keith, and I) were out for a good evening and were joined by a scottish couple. Turns out the girl went to university in Glasgow - and by some strange turn of fate, I told them I went to school in Saudi. Turns out she is good friends with a boy named Neil O'Reilly - who was
Perhentians Perhentians Perhentians

View from the top
one of my sister's best friends all the way in Saudi Arabia almost 20 years ago!
That night consisted of a lot of drinking and dancing,...I had a great time!! The next day was my last night in the Perethians - and I went to watch a movie and have dinner with Amber. I was tempted to stay on the island, but had to remember by long-term plan of experiencing the wild times of the Full Moon Party!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb