Tropical Fever!!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Terengganu » Perhentian Besar
July 8th 2005
Published: November 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We arrived on Perhentian Island in Malaysia in on June 17th . I was here about 6 years ago, and Scott three, and it's still an unspoilt paradise I am glad to say. Have been doing a lot of snorkelling, which has been great. Great, that was, until we saw a shark today! We had walked over to a deserted beach and I had seen it in the shallows, soon after entering the water. I then saw it again in the distance, just a scary outline. Finally, we saw it very close, about 15 feet away!!! That was enough for us - we were out of there quite quickly and now feel scared to go back in, eve though everyone assures us they are completely harmless.

June 30th

I just spent last night in the "accident and emergency" ward in the hospital at Kota
Bharu, Malaysia. I had been having fever and chills, as well as a cough and a rash for a few days but it got worse on Tuesday night, going to 39.3 degrees C. Scott gave me paracetamol and damp cloths to bring it down, which worked a bit.

By morning, I felt OK
The JourneyThe JourneyThe Journey

Beautiful scenery
and had only a slight temperature, but decided to go to the mainland (we were on Perhentian Island) for a day to have some tests done to be on the safe side. I hated it at first as I took my own temperature when I first arrived and it was 38.8. The check-in person took it right after and said it was only 36.4, which is below normal. I knew this was wrong as I could feel my skin temperature! Still, he wrote this temp on my records.

When I saw the doctor, he was very hurried and not very concerned at all. When I tried to ask questions he would just roll his eyes and couldn't really be bothered. It was scary as I thought he was going to just tell me to go home. He actually ordered a blood test and said it would take 2-3 hours for the results. I was out on a stretcher to wait and suddenly saw a backpack being wheeled in with an "STA Travel" badge. I was sooo happy - there was another backpacker in the place. Soon, she was placed in the stretcher next to me. We compared notes. She was staying on the same island and had similar symptoms, but also diarrhoea and vomiting! We ended waiting on the stretchers from 2.30pm to 7pm, when I was taken to see a second doctor. She was so nice and very concerned about my temperature, and decided to check me in "for at least 24 hours". Meanwhile, Eve, the German girl beside me, had just been told she was discharged. I couldn't believe it as she was still vomiting and having diarrhoea. I quickly went back to her and told her to come see the nice doctor with me and she got admitted too. They put us in the emergency ward in beds side by side, which was nice.

We actually had a laugh, especially when the hospital porter came touting a guesthouse with free bike hire (as if we were in any fit state) and when the hospital uniform came - a HUGE green sarong thing which I had no clue how to wear!

The rest of the night, we were woken up every 4 hours to have temperature and blood pressure taken, and we were both fine the whole might. We thought it might be due to
Huge Monitor LizardHuge Monitor LizardHuge Monitor Lizard

These creatures roam around freely!
the air-conditioning, a rare luxury!

Despite my first doctor telling me the tests would come back in 3 hours, they will actually take 3-4 days! I got discharged this morning at about 11am, walked in circles to find the taxi rank, then got a taxi for the hour trip to the harbour. In a few days the hospital is supposed to call with the results - they are thinking it's dengue fever (which Scott has 3 years ago in Thailand!) or Typhoid. In the meantime, I have three lots of medication to take, as seems to be always the case in Asia - if in doubt, prescribe anything and everything!!!

I'm hoping my little hospital adventure is finished now...

AS for other news, we are just relaxing on the island still. We were supposed to be doing some scuba diving but I think it will have to wait a week until I am completely fine. Still, sitting on the beach and drinking banana milkshakes must be the fastest road to recovery out there!

July 8th Cured!

I am cured in more ways than one!

First, I am cured of my tropical disease. Never did find out for sure what it was as it isn't easy calling the hospital, but the antibiotics seemed to work and I celebrated with my first beer in two weeks a few nights ago!

Secondly, I think I am cured of my fear of sharks! Ever since the time we saw one close up while snorkelling a few weeks ago, I have always had it in the back of my mind when snorkelling and have jumped a little if a big fish swam by in a shark-like manner (I swear they kind of strut!).

Anyway, we have actually had four shark sightings between the two of us in the last two days and I still have all my limbs, so they MUST be tame! On Wednesday we snorkelled to a place called "Shark Point", which is on the other island. With that ominous sounding name I felt sure we'd see one, and we did. I felt strangely unafraid and just watched it as it glided past. I think I was helped by the fact that I had seen a snorkel boat close by, and other people.

The next day, we did a snorkel at a beach on our island. Within five minutes of getting in the water I saw a shark. It cruised past me and started to head towards Scott. There was only one thing on my mind - I HAD to get a photo!!! I managed to snap two of the toothy little guy, so I hope at least one comes out well. Later that same snorkel, I saw another, then Scott saw one, then we both saw another. Granted, it could have been the same shark each time, but still...

Today we just signed up for our first actual scuba dive. It was put off due to first illness, and then bad visibility. Both have now cleared up, so we are set to go at 10.15am tomorrow. We haven't dove since we were at the Gt Barrier Reef in Australia 3 years ago, so have to do a refresher course to get our skills back up to par. We have been reading about some great-sounding dives in Bali, so want to be ready!

Wedding people...We fly to Bali on August 4th, and plan to go straight to Sanur to get to know the place and make arrangements. We'll keep you posted.





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb