Exploding Bottle Opener?


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Terengganu » Kuala Terengganu
October 2nd 2017
Published: October 3rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

We arrive in Kuala Lumpur feeling like zombies, and we've still got quite a few hours to go before we get anywhere near a bed. I nearly walk into a glass panel in the airport without realising it's there. I hadn't realised that lack of sleep could interfere with your sense of humour, but I can't think of any other reason why Issy seems to find this so hilariously funny.

The security guard manning the scanner tells Issy that she's got a bottle opener in her bag. This is news to us. He then spends several minutes unpacking it trying to find the errant item, before realising it was in the bag belonging to the person in front of us. They're long gone, and no one seems too interested in chasing them. I hope you can't use a bottle opener to blow up a plane.

We board our flight to Kuala Terengganu. We'll arrive too late to catch the last ferry for the day out to our ultimate destination, so we've booked a room at a local hotel called the Duyong Marina and Resort.

We're just about asleep on our feet. The lady at reception tells us that they've got 24 hour room service. This sounds like a good option; we don't think we've got the energy to go out. And a good option it would be too.... if there was a room service menu in the room. We drag ourselves to the resort's restaurant. It's huge, and we're the only people here. It seems that Terengganu is a very conservative Muslim state, and there's no sign of any alcohol on sale. We're soon joined by the hotel cat, so the total number of wannabe diners here has now swelled to three. The cat decides that it wants to play with my hand, but it gets a bit vigorous and bites it. I hope it hasn't got rabies. I've heard that you can get a rabies injection after you've been bitten, and this might stop you from dying provided you do it quickly. I've also heard that the injection goes straight into your stomach and is very painful. The cat doesn't look particularly sick so I decide to risk it. I guess Issy can cart me off for an injection if I start frothing at the mouth in the middle of the night, although I suspect by then it'll probably already be too late. Right now I'm too tired to care.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb