Kuching 'Cat City'


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kuching
September 18th 2013
Published: November 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Salia and I made our way to Singapore airport where to head for Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia. On the train platform I almost got fined for taking a swig from my water bottle, but luckily just got a warning. Very strict rules in Singapore!

We arrived in Kuching at 13.15. Having no place booked to stay, I opened my lonely planet guide and picked the cheapest and best sounding accommodation there was. Most of the the places were all in the same area anyway so we could check out a few if needed. But I chose Nomad Borneo B&B. it was a dorm with 2 bunk beds so not too crowded and there was only one other person in there.

We took a stroll into town to find some lunch as both of us were very hungry, but it was quiet with nowhere visible open serving food. As we wandered further, one local place presented itself to us.

In the evening, we explored more. It seemed to have livened up and become busier. There was some performing going on down by the river, Chinese dancing dragons and music playing. I believe it was Mooncake Festival (the second largest festival after Chinese New Year). A lady gave us paper lanterns with a candle as we watched a big group of drummers perform. Another lady advised me how it was great I got to experience and join in with the celebrations.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb