Crashing a Business Dinner


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kuching
October 21st 2009
Published: December 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

No SquattingNo SquattingNo Squatting

In a restaurant bathroom, instructions for men & women on how to sit on a Western-style toilet.
Tuesday, our last night in Kuching. Tomorrow we fly to JB. Melody & I fed the kids in the hotel restaurant. Then we left them in the room and walked by ourselves to the rooftop seafood food court where we had eaten the first night. They have fresh seafood of all description on display; you pick out what you want, they weigh it, then cook it to order. Walking back, nearing the hotel, I told her to go on ahead while I bought her some Diet Coke for tomorrow.

If you know me you know I'm a lover of fine wine. On a trip to Malaysia I can resign myself to the occasional Tiger beer. But look over there -- inside that restaurant -- along the back wall is 15 sq. metres of wine racks. That's different. I walked over to check them out.

About halfway down the line of racks, a round table with about 8 diners blocked my way. One of them started to get up to let me by. "That's OK," I say, "I don't need to see all of them." Well, he starts asking me to help him pick out a wine for the table. I notice it's piled with empty crab shells and other dining detritus, plus an empty wine bottle and a large, only half empty bottle of whiskey. These folks are having a good time for a Tuesday night.

I can't ever resist helping others shop for wine. I chat with the guy about what he's looking for vs. what they have. I suggest a French red, oh about $25 or so. He says that will be fine, but of course I must join the group for a glass of it. I'm wondering what Melody would make of my delay ... as I sit down.

I gleaned it must be some kind of business dinner, although I never quite asked. My "friend" was the most loquacious of the bunch, although some others at the table talked some too. It was a motley group. There were two wives; the quiet boss who didn't drink; the Chinese guy. One man said he grew up on a rural longhouse in Borneo and now lives in Toronto. We talked about hunting, Texas, wine, and told some jokes.

I told them "I'm not going to drink any more wine." They looked at my empty glass and nodded solemnly. It must be time for me to go back to my hotel. No wait, it's a joke ... "but I'm not going to drink any less." Actually, it was time for me to go.

The wine was pretty good. The adventure was even better!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb