Cat City


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kuching
December 1st 2009
Published: December 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

On November 30, I took a 2-hour flight from Penang to Kuching, Sarawak (Borneo). Kuching means "Cat", but the city name may also be derived from the Indian word for "port", which is "Cochin": for more info on the origins click HERE if you're interested.

Kuching is a pleasant city with the Sarawak river flowing through it. Arriving late at night, I checked into a hotel and went to sleep. The next morning I ran into a fellow Dutch guy, Patrick. We decided to rent motorbikes and cruise around town for the day.

We went to the Sarawak museum and saw the quite impressive new parliamentary building. Sarawak enjoys a certain form of autonomy from Peninsular Malaysia so it has its own government. I even got a separate stamp in my passport when I entered Sarawak!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

My motorbikeMy motorbike
My motorbike

On the straight end, I got it to run to 100km/h and then chickened out ;-)


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb