Getting an Iban Tribal Tatoo


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kuching
June 28th 2008
Published: June 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My Iban Tribal Tattoo 1My Iban Tribal Tattoo 1My Iban Tribal Tattoo 1

Iban tattos are always done in black ink. There is a huge variety of motifs.
In the longhouses of Sarawak I met elderly people whose skin was almost covered in charcoal coloured tatoos. I had wanted to get a tat for a long time, and Sarawak felt like the ideal place to do that.

Ernesto has run the Borneo Headhunters studio for over ten years. He uses modern sterilising equipment and offers a choice between machine tatooing and traditional bamboo tools. Surprisingly, he says that the traditional method is the least painful.

These pictures tell the story of how I got my souvenir of Borneo. (Scroll down for picture #2 and following.)

In Kuching you can get your own tatoo at Borneo Headhunters .


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

My Iban Tribal Tattoo 2My Iban Tribal Tattoo 2
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 2

Skilled tatooists are artists.
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 3My Iban Tribal Tattoo 3
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 3

They may also run successful businesses.
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 4My Iban Tribal Tattoo 4
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 4

I went to this studio in Jalan Wayang.
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 5My Iban Tribal Tattoo 5
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 5

Ernesto was quite clearly the right man for the job.
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 6My Iban Tribal Tattoo 6
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 6

He peprepared a traditional hornbill design to fit my calf and, as soon as he’d sterilized my leg, he inked it on.
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 7My Iban Tribal Tattoo 7
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 7

Three of us settled onto a rattan mat on the floor of the studio.
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 8My Iban Tribal Tattoo 8
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 8

They used modern ink and traditional bamboo implements: a ‘pricker’ and a ‘tapper.'
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 9My Iban Tribal Tattoo 9
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 9

The instruments had been sterilised and the helper wore surgical gloves.
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 10My Iban Tribal Tattoo 10
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 10

The design grew quite slowly at first.
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 11My Iban Tribal Tattoo 11
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 11

Ernesto really had to concentrate hard.
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 12My Iban Tribal Tattoo 12
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 12

It took shape ................... gradually.
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 13My Iban Tribal Tattoo 13
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 13

The bamboo point was dipped in ink and then gently tapped into my skin.
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 14My Iban Tribal Tattoo 14
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 14

It actually didn’t hurt much, not at all.
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 15My Iban Tribal Tattoo 15
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 15

The entire process was completed within one hour.
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 16My Iban Tribal Tattoo 16
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 16

They covered my tat in Glad Wrap to protect it, and provided a disinfectant cream.
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 17My Iban Tribal Tattoo 17
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 17

The next day my new hornbill was ready to show off.
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 18My Iban Tribal Tattoo 18
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 18

Visit Ernesto's home page at [url=http://www.borneoheadhunter.com/] Borneo Headhunters [/url].


4th November 2009

i want to find my father place..
hi friend im happy when i see u the web site.. no i will like to be your friend. next year i plan to find my father kampung at sri aman at lubok antu.. hope u can help me a little bit.. if u fill free just sms my mobile fon on;0135555709. thank you my friend....
23rd March 2011
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 4

Please may you explain what tattoo mean
11th April 2011

HI
Can you see the picture on my leg? It's permanent.
11th June 2012
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 18

SUPERB!
I used to live in Brunei years ago and this took me back. What a brave lady you are. Am getting a tat in August and loved this story. Inspired. With thanks and appreciation. Cathi x
1st February 2014
My Iban Tribal Tattoo 18

Hi Cathi,
At this stage it's taking me back too! But I have the tatt as a souvenir.

Tot: 0.355s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 18; qc: 76; dbt: 0.2422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb