There they are! Night trekking in Similajau National Park


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Bintulu
June 29th 2009
Published: June 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Another Tree FrogAnother Tree FrogAnother Tree Frog

Polypedates Colletti Later identified in the Borneo frog book.
I love camping, but I can't deny that when I have to get out the tent in the middle of the night for a pee break, I feel scared. In the forest, with just my flashlight, I figure all sorts of creatures are watching me, some wanting to eat me. I don't like being in the forest at night... UNTIL NOW!

After sunset we set out with our guide into the Similajau National Park Rainforest. With torch lights on our foreheads, we started creeping into the jungle, treading quietly. Now I wasn't the hunted, I was the hunter!

When hiking through the rainforest during the day, it can be near impossible to find creatures, the forest is so dense, it is like sensory overload, you can't focus on anything. As such, the well camouflaged creatures of the jungle go unnoticed.

BUT at night, with a single torch beam to guide your vision, it is like concentrated vision, superhero like powers. Only viewing the rainforest within a 2-3 foot diametre circle of light, suddenly you can't miss the tree frog, the lizard, the Wagler's pit viper, or the giant stick insect. Likewise, the civet's red eyes are easily distinguishable, in fact, the curious and bold little creature was following us for quite a distance. Finally, on the final boardwalk our guide found for us the single, red glowing eye in the mangrove swamp. We watched the eye, or it watched us. It blinked slowly. This was as close as I needed to get to the man-eating saltwater crocodile.

“We should head back soon.” whispered Craig.

“Why?” I asked. It had only been about 30 minutes, there was so much more to see.

“We've been out two hours.” he said.

Come to think of it, I was drenched in sweat, my hair as wet as though I had just had a shower. Maybe I had been out night trekking more than 30 minutes.

p.s. Frances, thought you would enjoy these photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Crazy Insect FaceCrazy Insect Face
Crazy Insect Face

Similajau National Park
Clinging OnClinging On
Clinging On

Night Trek in Similajau National Park
Tree Frog from Night TrekTree Frog from Night Trek
Tree Frog from Night Trek

Polypedates Colletti Later identified in the Borneo frog book.
Wagler's Pit ViperWagler's Pit Viper
Wagler's Pit Viper

Night Trek, Similajau National Park.
Part of the branch.Part of the branch.
Part of the branch.

Night Trek, Similajau National Park.
Stick InsectStick Insect
Stick Insect

Night Trek Similajau National Park
Beautiful BeachesBeautiful Beaches
Beautiful Beaches

Similajau Natioanal Park
Forest ButterflyForest Butterfly
Forest Butterfly

Similajau National Park
Creek in Similajau National ParkCreek in Similajau National Park
Creek in Similajau National Park

No swimming here, full of crocodiles.
Bintulu, an oil city. Bintulu, an oil city.
Bintulu, an oil city.

Bintulu burning in the distance seen from Similajau National Park
Craig trying out a Tarzan moveCraig trying out a Tarzan move
Craig trying out a Tarzan move

Similajau National Park


Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0878s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb