A Trip to Only One of the Islands


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Kota Kinabalu
January 28th 2013
Published: March 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

I accidentally slept late, but I think I was tired from my trip the day before yet. I got to the pier around 10am to buy my ticket to the islands. Online it says I can buy a ticket to as many islands I want to visit in one day, I just need to pay an extra fee for each additional island. Not so. I was informed--rather rudely--that the policy is, "One person, one island." When I tried to find out more information, like why, I was just told to go to the next window and leave them alone. Nice, huh? The islands were the only reason I was still in KK since there's little else to do. I was forced to choose one island on the spot. I chose Manuksan because it was larger than Sapi. I realized later that Sapi was the one with the tropical fish you can feed, something I'd really been looking forward to.

The ride out was pretty and the island was lovely. I walked about and saw a number of large monitor lizards scrurrying away from the people. I was happy there were headed in the opposite direction, rather than being curious. I enjoyed views of the turquoise water and the sounds of the waves crashing on the beach. The side of the island opposite where you enter has some amazing views.

I also hiked a trail that went up and around the island. It was pretty with a lot of trees, but not much else to see. After seeing several meter-long monitor lizards, though, I decided to turn back since I was by myself. I wasn't in the mood to make any four-legged friends.

After a less than satisfying lunch of greasy fried rice I settled on a bench to enjoy the views and read a book until my boat back at 4pm. I was still quite sunburned from Bali and decided shade was a better choice than the direct sun on the beaches.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

More friends.More friends.
More friends.

I'm not taking that path.
Two of them!?Two of them!?
Two of them!?

Time to turn back.


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.043s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb