Miller round the world Day 11


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Kota Kinabalu
October 11th 2010
Published: October 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Happy Thanksgiving! This is a free day, I believe the only one on the trip. We got up around 7:30 and were greeted by an overcast but cooler day. After the usual excellent breakfast, we dallied in the resort gift shop and made a few purchases. We discussed what we would do today (some others of our party had signed up for various excursions) and Vi decided to book an in-room massage. We returned to our room and did laundry (a most necessary task by this time). Then we put on our swim suits and headed for the pool and frankly spent most of the rest of the day alternatively cooling off in the pool and relaxing in loungers beside it. 

At one point I took off to swim in the ocean, where I had a bit of an adventure. The surf was quite heavy, quite capable of knocking you off your feet but I plunged ahead beyond the breakers and enjoyed an ocean swim. I soon discovered, however, that I was being pulled rather strongly parallel to the shore and away from the resort. I admit to being quite tired before I got close enough to the shore to grab a rope perpendicular to the beach and pull myself in the rest of the way hand over hand. One of our group on the beach had been quite concerned about me and had alerted a life guard who came out to greet me and make sure I was OK. No harm done except a number of cuts and scratches from the barnacle covered rope.
 
We lounged around the pool a bit longer then returned to our room for Vi's massage. I discretely headed for the bar, where I am typing this.
 
Tonight we are supposed to have a BBQ on the beach as long as the weather holds. It looks good at this point, since the skies have not changed all day, although the wind has definitely picked up.
Tomorrow is up early and on by plane to Kuala Lumpur, the capital of Malaysia.  

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0814s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb