Arrival @ Ipoh Old Town (Apr 2016)


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Perak
April 21st 2016
Published: May 7th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Thursday, 21st April 2016

This was an impromptu trip and it was decided sometime in late March 2016. After sourcing for cheap tickets to Ipoh, I was soon on my way to Changi Airport for my 1 hour flight to the capital city of the state of Perak. I wanted to stay near the beautiful Railway Station, take a couple of train trips and visit the famous cave temples. Oh yes, I heard that there were a couple of museums worth exploring and plenty of delicious local foods that I could try.

The city of Ipoh is divided into the old and new town separated by the Kinta River. The old town is where the train and bus stations meet as well as where the museums and street murals are located. There are also plenty of hip cafes and traditional coffee shops located within the confines of the old town. The new town contains most of Ipoh's local delicacies and shopping facilities.

I stayed at the Cititel Express located at the edge of the Old Town and overlooking the New Town, Kinta River and limestone caves. To me, this was a fantastic location where it was not too far from anywhere in town.

On the evening that I arrived, I embarked on a walking trail around the Old Town to visit the majestic Railway Station, the beautiful town hall and the Birch Memorial Clock Tower. I also passed by the shops along the Concubine Lane which were already closed for the day. Dinner was at the Old Town White Coffee, overlooking the breezy Padang where I took a long walk that same night.

I was happy to be where I am today for this short getaway and thankful that the affordable air fares made this trip very possible.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.1029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb